Skip to main content

Research Guides

Political Science

Get started with key print and online resources in political science.

Canadian information

These Canadian-focused resources draw from a range of materials, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, indexes for finding articles, sources for finding information on government, and websites.

For more detailed information, please consult Patricia Bellamy’s Canadian Studies LibGuide.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more

Canadian annual review of politics and public affairs  1971-1997

  • F5003 .C327
  • Preceded by:
    • Canadian Annual Review of Public Affairs, v.1-[35], 1901-1938
    • Canadian Annual Review, 1960-1970
  • Provides a survey of the the major political, economic and social events of the year in Canada

Canadian Encyclopedia, World Edition  (1999) 
 
L'Année politique au Québec 
 
Language of Canadian politics : a guide to important terms and concepts 

  • JA 61 .M36 2001

Finding articles about Canada

The following major indexes are excellent for finding articles about Canada.  Although these indexes overlap, users should search all three for comprehensive, in-depth results.

America: History and Life  1964+

  • Covers the United States and Canada
  • Indexes journals published worldwide

Canadian Periodical Index CPI.Q.  1992+

  • Indexes a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, newspapers, and other references

CBCA Reference  1982+

  • Indexes a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines

Governmental information

Government of Canada (primary site)

  • Excellent starting point for current Government of Canada research
  • Includes links to government departments and agencies, programs and services, and provincial sites

Canadian Almanac and Directory 
 
Canadian Governmental Web Resources 

  • Canadian governmental web sites, from all levels of government 
  • From Data, Maps, and Government Information Services, U of T.

LibGuide: Canadian Parliamentary Publications

  • Guide to the major publications produced on behalf of Canada's Parliament since Confederation (1867) 
  • Compiled by Sherry Smugler, Robarts Library


Canadian Research Index 

  • Excellent resource for Canadian political science research
  • Indexes depository publications of research value by Canadian federal, provincial and territorial governments (excluding Nunavut)
  • Also indexes non-depository policy, social, economic, and political reports issued by hundreds of Canadian government agencies and departments; Statistics Canada monographs and serials; and scientific and technical reports issued by research institutes and government labs
  • To locate items found at Robarts:
    • check the library catalogue under individual titles for paper copies 
    • If not found, use the Microlog number to access the microfiche collection in Data, Map and Government Information Services, 5th floor, Robarts Library


Laws of Canada 

  • Includes Statutes of Canada, the Constitution, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and regulations
  • Also provides links to provincial statutes


Library of Parliament: Research Publications 

  • Excellent source for current government publications
  • Publications are prepared by the Library of Parliament, and provide information and analysis to members of Parliament, Senate and House of Commons committees, and other parliamentary associations
  • Covers Aboriginal issues, defence, energy, environment, human rights, etc. 
  • Some publications include additional resources and reading lists


Library of Parliament: Research & Analysis Documents 

  • Useful for older material only
  • Documents provide background and analysis of issues of interest to Canadian members of parliament; some also provide select reading lists
  • Included are: 
    • Current issue reviews (CIR)
    • Backgrounders (BP)
    • Legislative summaries (LS)
    • Mini reviews (MR)
    • Modular documents (PRB)

Organizations and web links

Associations Canada 

Canadian Election Surveys and Data 

  • For help or additional information contact the Data Library Service at the University of Toronto Libraries.


Canadian Information by Subject: Political Science 

  • From Library and Archives Canada


Canadian Labour Unions 

  • Collection of documents published on the websites of Canada's public sector unions, private sector unions, and labour federations 
  • Collection is national in scope
  • Most websites include administrative and organizational information, press releases and newsletters, and collective bargaining information (including some collective agreements)


Canadian Political Parties And Political Interest Groups 

  • Archives the websites of all national Canadian political parties, and a number of special interest groups across the political spectrum
  • Harvesting began in early 2006 and takes place on a monthly basis


Canadian Political Science Association 
 

policy.ca 

  • Non-partisan resource for public discussion of issues in Canadian public policy 
  • Site consists of a database of online public policy research publications, as well as information on policy organizations, institutes and researchers

Statistics

Canada e-Book  Year Book

  • Statistical review of the resources, demography, institutions and social and economic conditions of Canada. Based on the 2001 Canada Yearbook, with updates
  • Previous years of the Canada Year Book are available in print in the Data, Map and Government Information Section of Robarts Library, 5th floor:


Finding Canadian Statistics