"Five hundred years of colonization have taken an incalculable toll on the Indigenous peoples of the Americas: substance use disorders and shockingly high rates of depression, diabetes, and other chronic health conditions brought on by genocide and colonial control ...[the author] uses history, human development, and her own and others' stories to trace the roots of Indigenous cultural dislocation and community breakdown in an original and provocative examination of the long-term effects of colonization.[...] also shows how we can come back from this with Indigenous ways of knowing lighting the way."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Understanding Trauma and Child Maltreatment Experienced in Indigenous Communities

"Provides readers around the globe with a focused and comprehensive examination of how to prevent and respond to child maltreatment using evidence-informed public health approaches and programs that meet the needs of vulnerable children, and struggling families and communities. It outlines the system failures of contemporary forensically-driven child protection practice. Detailed guidance is provided about how to re-think earlier intervention strategies, and establish stronger and more effective programs and services that prevent maltreatment at the population level. Service user and stakeholder perspectives, particularly from marginalized groups including Indigenous peoples, highlight how public health approaches can better support families and keep children safe."

"The Final Report of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation, published in three volumes, records the
formation and accomplishments of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF) between 1998 and
2005. A Healing Journey: Reclaiming Wellness, tells the story of the AHF
in language that we hope will speak to Survivors of the residential school experience, participants in
projects funded by the AHF, Aboriginal communities, policy makers and the general public." (excerpted from introduction)

"The Final Report of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation, published in three volumes, records the
formation and accomplishments of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF) between 1998 and
2005. Volume II, Measuring Progress: Program Evaluation presents quantitative data and interpretation of the impacts of program interventions in this time frame." (excerpted from introduction)

"The Final Report of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation, published in three volumes, records the
formation and accomplishments of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF) between 1998 and
2005. Volume III, Promising Healing Practices in
Aboriginal Communities analyzes and synthesizes information from project responses to a promising
healing practices questionnaire, project files, regional and national gatherings and literature in the field
of healing." (excerpted from introduction)

"An investigative exploration of the separate "Indian hospitals" that existed in Canada for many decades, told through memoir, archival research, and interviews with survivors."

"Addresses the health issues - physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual - of black women, First Nations women, and other women of colour. The book is a collection of scholarly essays, case studies, personal essays, poetry, and prose written by over 45 contributors. It illustrates, through the voices of many women, that gender, religious, cultural, and class background strongly influence how one experiences illness, how and when one is diagnosed, and how one is treated within the healthcare system. The book also focuses on the need for cultural sensitivity and inclusiveness in the delivery of health services."

"The shocking story of Canada's system of segregated health care. Operated by the same bureaucracy that was expanding health care opportunities for most Canadians, the "Indian Hospitals" were underfunded, understaffed, overcrowded, and rife with coercion and medical experimentation. Established to keep the Aboriginal tuberculosis population isolated, they became a means of ensuring that other Canadians need not share access to modern hospitals with Aboriginal patients. Tracing the history of the system from its fragmentary origins to its gradual collapse, Maureen K. Lux describes the arbitrary and contradictory policies that governed the "Indian Hospitals," the experiences of patients and staff, and the vital grassroots activism that pressed the federal government to acknowledge its treaty obligations. A disturbing look at the dark side of the liberal welfare state, Separate Beds reveals a history of racism and negligence in health care for Canada's First Nations that should never be forgotten."

"In this edited collection, academics, heath care professionals, and policy-makers examine the historical, political, and social factors that influence the health and health care of Indigenous, inner-city, and migrant populations in Canada. It explores epidemiology, clinical management, critical perspectives, and policy solutions on the health inequities faced by these under-served populations and the work being done to improve their health. With contributions from leading scholars including Dennis Raphael, this book addresses the need for systemic change both in and outside of the Canadian health care system."

"The first detailed collection of Indigenous perspectives on the history of tuberculosis in Canada's Indigenous communities and on the federal government's Indian Health Services. Featuring oral accounts from patients, families, and workers who experienced Canada's Indian Hospital system, it presents a fresh perspective on health care history that includes the diverse voices and insights of the many people affected by tuberculosis and its treatment in the mid-twentieth century. This intercultural history models new methodologies and ethics for researching and writing about Indigenous Canada based on Indigenous understandings of story and its critical role in Indigenous historicity, while moving beyond routine colonial interpretations of victimization, oppression, and cultural destruction. Written for both academic and popular reading audiences, Healing Histories is essential reading for those interested in Indigenous history in Canada, history of medicine and nursing, and oral histories."

BOOK CHAPTER:
From Embedded in Place to Marginalized Out and Back Again: Indigenous Peoples’ Experience of Health in Canada


"Although health equity and diversity-focused research has begun to gain momentum, there is still a paucity of research from health geographers that explicitly explores how geographic factors, such as place, space, scale, community, and location, inform multiple axes of difference. Such axes can include residential location, age, sex, gender, race/ethnicity, culture, religion, socio-economic status, marital status, sexual orientation, education level, and immigration status. Specifically focusing on Canada's rapidly changing society, which is becoming increasingly pluralized and diverse, this book examines the place-health-diversity intersection in this national context."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Seeing with Two Eyes: Indigenous Leadership and the LEADS Framework

"Provides an updated and evidence-based explanation of leadership within a healthcare environment. The book discusses new insights garnered from recent research into the importance of leadership in health system redesign and highlights the practice of shared or distributed health care leadership. New chapters covering LEADS in a national, regional, Indigenous, health profession, and people-centred care context provide new insights into how LEADS is being put to work to transform health systems [...] LEADS is also explained as a change leadership model and in relation to how it helps to level the playing field in terms of gender and diversity in health leadership. [...] relevant to health care administrators and professionals working within the public service, academic institutions, and health care delivery organisations."

"Written by one of the leading researchers in First Nations and Inuit Health, this is the only entry-level text to address the current state of knowledge in the field of aboriginal health.The book places aboriginal health in Canada within its historical and philosophical context as it addresses social and clinical approaches to major health issues facing this population. It discusses the distinctive features of aboriginal health and healing as opposed to traditional Western medicine and why it should be studied as a discrete field. Using the thread of cultural safety throughout, the text introduces students to health concerns facing the aboriginal population in general, with a special focus on the needs of women and children. Provides a framework for professionals to approach aboriginal clients in a way that will both respect their worldviews and retain their own professional epistemology. The text adheres to the CASN/ANAC/CAN framework for teaching cultural competence and safety in regard to aboriginal health"

"In this commentary, we provide what we heard about the reasons why cultural competency and cultural safety are needed. It is intended to serve as a primer on the issue for health care providers and leaders, governments, and the Canadian public. Part 2 of this report provides descriptions of new and emerging programs and strategies."

"North America's Indigenous population is a vulnerable group, with specific psychological and healing needs that are not widely met in the mental health care system. Indigenous peoples face certain historical, cultural-linguistic and socioeconomic barriers to mental health care access that government, health care organizations and social agencies must work to overcome. This volume examines ways Indigenous healing practices can complement Western psychological service to meet the needs of Indigenous peoples through traditional cultural concepts. Bringing together leading experts in the fields of Aboriginal mental health and psychology, it provides data and models of Indigenous cultural practices in psychology that are successful with Indigenous peoples. It considers Indigenous epistemologies in applied psychology and research methodology, and informs government policy on mental health service for these populations."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Cultural Safety and Critical Race Theory: Education Frameworks to Promote Reflective Nursing Practice

"Addresses the different methods professionals use to promote a critical reflective and reflexive stance among practitioners, leading to both a reconceptualization of practice and its subsequent change.  The goal of increased reflection in professional education is intended to expand approaches for professionals to work with diverse others. It is also intended to increase their levels of cognitive differentiation and depth of professional consciousness about themselves alongside diverse others in a rapidly changing world. This is an important issue in a range of applied professional programs, from education to medicine, social work to psychology, business to criminal justice."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Consultation to Remote and Indigenous Communities

"Based on a recently completed project of cultural consultation in Montreal, Cultural Consultation presents a model of multicultural and applicable health care. This model used clinicians and consultants to provide in-depth assessment, treatment planning, and limited interventions in consultation with frontline primary care and mental health practitioners working with immigrants, refugees, and members of indigenous and ethnocultural communities. Evaluation of the service has demonstrated that focused interventions by consultants familiar with patients' cultural backgrounds could improve the relationship between the patient and the primary clinician. This volume presents models for intercultural work in psychiatry and psychology in primary care, general hospital and specialty mental health settings...(for) mental health practitioners who are working in multidisciplinary settings who seek to understand cultural difference in complex cases. Psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, nurse practitioners, primary care providers and trainees in these disciplines will make thorough use of the material covered in this text."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Community Knowledge, Community Capital, and Cultural Safety

"Provides the first analysis of Native American women's reproductive healthcare and offers a sustained consideration of the movement for reproductive justice in the United States.; offers a respectful and informed analysis of the stories Native American women have to tell about their bodies, their lives, and their communities."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Defining Dementia Care Standards When Cultural Safety is at Stake: The Case of Indigenous Canadians with Dementia

"Addresses current issues in the neuroscience and ethics of dementia care, including philosophical as well as ethical legal, and social issues (ELSIs), issues in clinical, institutional, and private care-giving, and international perspectives on dementia and care innovations."

"The current research and evaluation of the American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) people demonstrates the increased demand for efficiency, accompanied by solid accountability in a time of extremely limited resources. This environment requires proficiency in working with these vulnerable populations in diverse cross- cultural settings. [...] This book provides an overview of complex themes as well as a synopsis of essential concepts or techniques in working with Native American tribes and Alaska Native communities. Conducting Health Research with Native American Communities will benefit Native people and organizations as well as researchers, students and practitioners."

BOOK CHAPTER:
Ethical Conduct in Indigenous Research: It’s Just Good Manners

"Presents Indigenous research as strong and self-determined with theories, ethics and methodologies arising from within unique cultural contexts. Yet the volume makes clear that challenges remain, such as working in mainstream institutions that may not regard the work of Indigenous researchers as legitimate 'science'. In addition, it explores a twenty-first-century challenge for Indigenous people researching with their own people, namely the ethical questions that must be addressed when dealing with Indigenous organisations and tribal corporations that have fought for - and won - power and money. The volume also analyses Indigenous/non-Indigenous research partnerships, outlining how they developed respectful and reciprocal relationships of benefit for all, and argues that these kinds of best practice research guidelines are of value to all research communities."