Research guides: Indigenous Health Resources: Databases

Subject-specific Databases

When searching a health database, sometimes search filters can be helpful in finding articles for population groups. Here are some search filters (also known as hedges), which can help to narrow your search results to articles relevant to indigenous populations:

Indigenous Peoples search filters (covers Canada, US, Australasia, Northern Europe - for MEDLINE (Ovid), Embase (Ovid)) - University of Alberta Library
Indigenous Peoples search filters (includes a general search, and for CINAHL (Ebsco)- Robertson Library, University of Prince Edward Island

Arctic Health Publications Database
Contains articles, reports, and grey literature relating to the health of individuals in the Arctic

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database
Consists of over 7000 records on the health of individuals in the circumpolar region
iPortal
iPortal is a database developed by the The University of Saskatchewan Library. It contains full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.

Native Health Database
Developed by the University of New Mexico, this database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of Indigenous Peoples.
Native American Ethnobotany
Contains information on plant-based food, medicines, dyes, and textiles used by Indigenous peoples.
The Archive of Healing
(Account Required) One of the largest databases of medicinal folklore from around the world. The entries address a broad range of health-related topics and materials are taken from many archives and other sources from 7 continents.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Indigenous Health Resources

Subject-specific Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us