Research guides: FSC430 Seminar in Forensic Science (Capstone Course): Spotlight on Primary Sources and Videos

Colonization and Colonialism, Restorative Justice, Indigenous Ways of Knowing

Primary Source Materials

A unique and powerful way to support your arguments is to use primary sources. These primary source collections may help you achieve this:

Adam Matthew: American Indian Histories and Culture
PERIOD COVERED: 17th to mid 20th Century
The collection includes:
— An original copy of The Red Man’s Greeting (1893), written on birch bark by Potawatomi Indian Simon Pokagon
— Treaties between American Indian Nations and the US Government
Adam Matthew: Borderlands
PERIOD COVERED: 1650 - 1920
Experience settlements across the various frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Explore documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people in these regions alongside the marginalisation and decline of indigenous peoples.
Adam Matthew: Empire Online
PERIOD COVERED: Late 15th to early 21st century
— Section I: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969
— Section II: Empire Writing & the Literature of Empire
— Section III: The Visible Empire
— Section IV: Religion & Empire
— Section V: Race, Class, Colonialism, Imperialism
With primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British perspectives, Empire Online provides documents from Africa, India and North America.
Archives Direct: Confidential Print North America 1824 - 1961
Highlights
— The birth of the railways and industry, the Hudson’s Bay Company, trade, economy and agriculture, fisheries and shipping
— Native Americans, border disputes, slavery and apprenticeship, the Morant Bay rebellion

Secondary Sources

Sources such as books, scholarly handbooks and book chapters will likely provide the majority of your sources. Here are some starting points:

Indigenous Environmental Knowledge by John Edington
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9783319624907
Publication Date: 2017-09-15
This book examines comprehensively for the first time, the scope and accuracy of indigenous environmental knowledge. It shows that in some spheres, including agriculture, house design, fuel and water manipulation, the high reputation of local observers is well deserved and often sufficiently insightful to warrant wider imitation. However it also reveals that in certain matters, notably some aspects of health care and wild-species population management, local knowledge systems are conspicuously unsound.
Bridging the Early Modern Atlantic World by Caroline A. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0754666816
Publication Date: 2009-08-28
Bridging the Early Modern Atlantic World brings together ten original essays by an international group of scholars exploring the complex outcomes of the intermingling of people, circulation of goods, exchange of information, and exposure to new ideas that are the hallmark of the early modern Atlantic. Some of the chapters focus on the experience of Europeans, including French consumers of Newfoundland cod, English merchants forming families in Spanish Seville, and Jewish refugees from Dutch Brazil making the Caribbean island of Nevis their home. Others focus on the ways in which the populations with whom Europeans came into contact, enslaved, or among whom they settled - the Tupi peoples of Brazil, the Kriston women of the west African port of Cacheu, among others - adapted to and were changed by their interactions with previously unknown peoples, goods, institutions, and ideas.
Cultural Education-Cultural Sustainability by Zvi Bekerman (Editor); Ezra Kopelowitz (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0415995906
Publication Date: 2008-07-17
This volume is a path-breaking contribution to the study of efforts of diaspora, indigenous, and minority groups, broadly defined, to use education (formal and informal) to sustain cultural continuity while grappling with the influences and demands of wider globalizing, nationalizing, or other homogenizing and assimilatory forces.
When God Isn't Green by Jay Wexler
Call Number: GF80 .W49 2016 (UTM)
ISBN: 0807001929
Publication Date: 2016-03-15
In this lively, round-the-world trip, law professor and humorist Jay Wexler explores the intersection of religion and the environment.
Decolonising Indigenous Rights by Adolfo de Oliveira (Editor); Adolfo de Oliveira (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0415339502
Publication Date: 2008-11-03
Covering a wide range of issues relating to the topic, this book examines the experiences and perceptions of indigenous peoples in the context of the national states and political systems that have been externally imposed and implemented upon them.

Social Justice and Civil Rights

Primary Source Materials

A unique and powerful way to support your arguments in your essay is to use primary sources. These primary source collections may help you achieve that goal:

Adam Matthew: African American Communities
PERIOD COVERED: 1863-1986
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Adam Matthew: Slavery, Abolition, Social Justice
PERIOD COVERED: 1490 - 2007
The resource offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Thematic areas include: Slavery in the Early Americas, African Coast, The Middle Passage, Slavery and Agriculture, Urban and Domestic Slavery, Slave Testimony, Spiritualism and Religion in Slave Communities, Resistance and Revolts, The Underground Railroad, The Abolition, Movement and the Slavery Debate, Legislation and Politics, Freed Slaves, Freedmen and Free Black Settlements, Education, Slavery and the Islamic World, Varieties of Slave Experience, and Slavery Today and the Legacy of Slavery.
Archives Direct: Confidential Print North America 1824 - 1961
Highlights
— Native Americans, border disputes, slavery and apprenticeship, the Morant Bay rebellion.
— Prohibition, the Ku Klux Klan, Nazi activities in Chile, McCarthyism.
Adam Matthew: Black Thought and Culture
PERIOD COVERED: 1700 - 1960
Contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of African Americans.
The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr.

Secondary Sources

Sources such as books, scholarly handbooks and book chapters will likely provide the majority of your sources. Here are some starting points:

Civil Rights Movement by Michael Ezra (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1598840371
Publication Date: 2009-05-13
This work documents the importance of the civil rights movement and its lasting impression on American society and culture. * A collection of primary source materials that give readers a look at the civil rights movement through the eyes of those who lived it * 16 short "sidebar" essays that highlight important personalities and events in the history of the civil rights movement

This book includes some primary source materials.

The Civil Rights Movement by Bruce J. Dierenfield
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1138835579
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
The civil rights movement was arguably the most important reform in American history. This book recounts the extraordinary and often bloody story of how tens of thousands of African Americans overcame long odds to dethrone segregation, to exercise the right to vote and to improve their economic standing.
American Religion, American Politics by Joseph Kip Kosek; Butler A. Jones
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 0300203519
Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Essential primary sources reveal the central tensions between American politics and religion throughout the nation's history Despite the centrality of separation of church and state in American government, religion has played an important role in the nation's politics from colonial times through the present day.

Gender-Based Violence

Primary Source Materials

A powerful way to support your research may be to use primary source documents. Try these collections:

Adam Mathew: Gender - Identity and Social Change
PERIOD COVERED: 19th to 21st centuries
Predominantly covers the US, UK, and Canada (and to a lesser extent, Australia).
The collection includes:
— Documents relating to Doris Stevens and Martha Carey Thomas in their fight for suffrage, including letters to Emmeline Pankhurst
— Papers from the collection of Betty Friedan, a leading figure in the feminist movement
Women and Social Movements, International (1840-present)
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

Secondary Sources

Sources such as books, scholarly handbooks and book chapters will likely provide the majority of your sources. Here are some starting points:

Religion and Intimate Partner Violence by Nancy Nason-Clark; Barbara Fisher-Townsend; Catherine Holtmann; Stephen McMullin
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780190607210
Publication Date: 2017-11-22
Violence is learned behavior and it flourishes most when it is ignored,minimized, or misunderstood. When it strikes the homes of deeply religious women, they are: more vulnerable; more likely to believe that their abusive partners can, and will, change; less likely to leave a violent home, temporarily or forever; often reluctant to seek outside sources of assistance;and frequently disappointed by the response of the religious leader to their call for help.
Overcoming Conflicting Loyalties by Irene Sevcik; Michael Rothery; Nancy Nason-Clark; Robert Pynn
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 1772120502
Publication Date: 2015-05-22
To date, little has been published about the place of spirituality in working with survivors of intimate partner violence. Overcoming Conflicting Loyalties examines the intersection of faith and culture in the lives of religious and ethno-cultural women in the context of the work of FaithLink, a unique community initiative that encourages religious leaders and secular service providers to work together.