Research Guides: FSC430 Seminar in Forensic Science (Capstone Course): Discipline Specific Databases

Discipline-Specific Databases

Using the subject-specific databases gives you the following advantages in carrying out sensitive searches:

thesauri and subject term hierarchies (like MeSH in MEDLINE)

The other search features are the same as in the top multidisciplinary citation indexes:

editable search histories
proximity and Boolean searching
truncation and wildcards

Both sets of databases can be used to carry out quality precise and sensitive searches, but only subject databases give the searcher the advantage of the subject thesaurus.

Anthropology Plus
Information about journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Citations to journal articles, essays, and book reviews, relating to religion and theology.
Business Source Premier
Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
CBCA Reference & Current Events
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Citations information including full text access to research related to criminal justice and criminology.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw
English- and French-language Canadian legal sources including journals, court and tribunal cases, legislation, commentary, and forms. Some coverage for UK, US, Australia, and other foreign jurisdictions.
PAIS Index
International research in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.

Don't Pay for Articles!

Discover a wonderful article while searching Google Scholar or another source on the Internet, Don't pay to access the article.

Ask the Reference & Research staff for help, or watch this video on accessing articles whose full-text links don't work: