Research guides: FSC430 Seminar in Forensic Science (Capstone Course): Multidisciplinary Databases and Interfaces

Multidisciplinary Databases: Citation Indexes

Citation Indexes are powerful interdisciplinary databases that offer the following source selection and filtering features, particularly useful for precise searches and rapid evaluation of results:

citation frequency sorting
impact metrics availability
editable search history
proximity and Boolean searching
wildcards and truncation operators

The following are the two premier citation indexes available to the research community:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Allows for citation sorting. Coverage from 1995 with strong international and developing world participation.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Allows citation sorting. Excellent in-depth coverage focusing on Europe and North America, but with a growing emphasis on East Asian research.

Multidisciplinary Search Interfaces

Unlike the citation indexes, these databases offer limited or inconsistent citation information, or do not allow for citation sorting. Many of the other search features of the citation indexes that made them ideal for precise searches are supported by this group of sources:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, and more.

Library OneSearch (Homepage Search)
This will be called Library Search as of late January 2021.