Research Guides: FCS199 Marketing in the French-Speaking World: Industry and Market Research

Global Industry and Market Databases

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)
Emerging markets information as well as global industry reports from BMI Research and GRDS among others.
Statista
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Passport GMID
Global coverage of more than 20 industries, with focus on consumer products and services, including reports, statistics and visualization tools. Includes consumer data and packaging and ingredients information. Reports updated annually.
Passport has a lot of data and sometimes finding what you're looking for can be a challenge. Please contact a librarian for help.
IBISWorld
In-depth Canadian, U.S., and global industry reports, with expert summary reports and specialized reports on niche industries.

Market Research Resources

MarketResearch.com Academic
Find research reports on Service Industries, Consumer Goods, Demographics, Food & Beverage, Heavy Industry, Life Science, Public Sector, Technology & Media. Publishers include Kalorama (for health technology), Packaged Facts (consumer packaged goods) and SBI (energy) among others.
eMarketer
Research on digital marketing, social media, online advertising, and e-commerce. Includes demographics of online consumers and marketing and advertising performance benchmarks.
Frost & Sullivan
In-depth market research and strategy reports in 15 major sectors with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies.
Mintel
Offers research reports covering US & Canada (Mintel Reports (US & Canada) and Mintel Global Consumer: A bi-annual survey across 36 countries that allows you to uncover the differences and similarities in attitudes, preferences and behaviors in the world's most important consumer markets.

News and Trade Publications

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Comprehensive database containing full‐text journals and business press titles as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Premier
Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.

CBCA and ABI/Inform are both in the ProQuest platform, which also includes many newspapers. Once you have run a search in ProQuest, you can expand the left sidebar and look for "company" to choose results specific to a company.

News and trade publications can be helpful when there is little market research available elsewhere.

Online Sources

Recommendations:

1. Check any relevant associations, like the Canadian Banking Association or legislative sites, like the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions, for industry or market data.

2. Check the country's embassy or consulate websites to see if they have market/industry information or links to their economic or demographic data websites.

3. Check consulting firms for business/industry reports - KPMG, E&Y, PWC, etc.

Research Guides

FCS199 Marketing in the French-Speaking World

Global Industry and Market Databases

Market Research Resources

News and Trade Publications

Online Sources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us