Research Guides: VIC106 Psychology and Society: Finding articles

Where and how to find articles

Non-exhaustive a list of recommended specific databases for scholarly articles on course themes:

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database offering informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.
Humanities Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of humanities journals, magazines and newspapers published in the UK or other English speaking countries.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Information about journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, with select full-text access.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

Journal on course themes that you can search within:

The Social History of Alcohol and Drugs: An Interdisciplinary Journal

The Social History of Alcohol and Drugs: An Interdisciplinary Journal (SHAD) is a peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to publishing high-quality original academic research, reflection essays, and reviews in the field of alcohol and drug history, broadly construed. SHAD appears twice annually as an official publication of the Alcohol and Drugs History Society, which promotes scholarship and discussions about the history of alcohol and drug use, abuse, production, trade, and regulation across time and space.