A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORID. Individual title records are available in the UofT Libraries Catalogue.
Tips on How to Search Items by Title
We highly recommend visiting UTL Media Commons Streaming Video page because it is continually being updated and contains even more online film collections, incl. Streaming Film Resources, Educational and Curriculum Video Resources (Multi-Subject), Subject Specific Video Resources, Health and Sciences Videos.
A few of the collections to highlight
- NFB Campus - National Film Board of Canada
- "Our Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. We showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians." Note, some films are labelled as ‘Campus’ and can only be viewed while on campus and connected to the U of T network.
- Audio Cine Films
- ACF is a film streaming service containing many new Hollywood releases (incl. Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Touchstones Pictures, Universal, Columbia Pictures, & MGM Pictures, Sony Pictures, and more)
- NOTE: Titles are displayed in LibrarySearch, however we recommend searching within the ACF service if you are unable to find a title.
- Asian film Online
- A selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts by Independent Asian filmmakers.
- Alexander Street - Academic Video Online
- Pro-Quest service featuring an array of video collections. For a full list of Alexander Street Collections, select 'Menu' then the drop down menu 'My Collections.'
- Criterion-on-Demand Canada (Feature Films)
- Numerous Titles are available in both English and French from film studios including: Paramount Pictures, Lionsgate Films, Alliance Films, Warner Brothers, Miramax Films, Mongrel Media.
- Browse by genre categories or search by keyword.
- For Advanced Search, find the link marked "Click here to activate all search menus".
- NOTE:Titles are displayed in LibrarySearch, however we recommend searching within the Criterion service if you are unable to find a title.
- Kanopy
- "We stream thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials by partnering with public libraries and universities. Everyone from film scholars to casual viewers will discover remarkable and enriching films on Kanopy. Log in with your library membership and enjoy our diverse catalogue with new titles added every month."
- NOTE: Titles are not available in LibrarySearch. Search within the Kanopy service by clicking the link above.
- Toronto Public Library also offers Kanopy access with a library card (8 watch credits per month). The TPL collection contains different films from the UofT membership.
- MyMedia Collection
- A collection of films that have been purchased for various faculties and uploaded have been uploaded to the UofT MyMedia video streaming service.
