Research Guides: CIN3008: Queer Girls & Racial Others : Find Scholarly Articles (LibrarySearch, Databases, Specific Journals)

Find an Article By Topic in LibrarySearch

Interdisciplinary Databases - Use Filters! (with videos)

UofT LibrarySearch - Advanced Search for Scholarly Resources
Options for limiting searching to article with the Advanced Search functions:

1. If searching in 'Everything,' use the Format drop-down menu to select 'Articles.'
2. Select the 'Article' option in the 'Search for:' field.
3. Enter your search terms & find the Format filter (left of your search results) and choose Articles.

To limit your results to Peer-Reviewed Articles, select that filter in the left sidebar under 'Show Only.'
FIAF Film Archive Databases (OVID)
A collection of International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) Film Databases (International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 onwards and International Index to TV Periodicals 1979 to 2006). Databases are available through OVID https://bit.ly/OVIDhelpvideos
Access - Limited number of users at one time

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, dissertations and theses, and more.
Use ProQuest Search Filters to narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar
>> Peer Review (be sure the combine with Document type)
>> Full Text (PDFs stored in ProQuest)
>> Source Type (e.g., Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines, Scholarly Journals)
>> Publication Title (e.g., New York Times, Variety)
>> Document Type (e.g., Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)
>> Subject (this filter is most effective with scholarly journals and books, as well as, some trade journals or magazines)
Learn more about ProQuest: https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform/advanced

EBSCO Platform
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals and ebooks.
>> Click on the "Select / deselect all" Check box to search all databases.
- Note: Selecting all databases for search may result in slow response time.
>> Filters: Peer Review, Full text
- Source Type: Academic Journals, Books, or more popular Magazines, Trade Publications (industry or professional audiences), News
- Various Subject filters

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary search engine of peer-reviewed academic journals and books (digital humanities and social sciences).

Recommended Scholarly Journals

American Quarterly
This journal is published in cooperation with the American Studies Association with a focus on essays that examine American societies and cultures, past and present, in global and local contexts.
Camera Obscura: Feminism, Culture, and Media Studies
Peer-Reviewed. This journal provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies.
Canadian Journal of Film Studies / Revue Canadienne d'Études Cinématographiques
Peer-Reviewed. The Journal for the Film Studies Association of Canada = Association canadienne d'études cinématographiques
Cinema Journal
Peer-Reviewed, 1966-2018. This was published by Journal for Society of Cinema and Media Studies until 2018 when it became Journal of Cinema and Media Studies (JCMS).
The Contemporary Pacific
Peer-Reviewed. 1989+. covers a wide range of disciplines with the aim of providing comprehensive coverage of contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia with articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics,
Discourse : Journal for Theoretical Studies in Media and Culture
Peer-Reviewed. 1979+ This journal publishs work in the theoretical humanities with an emphasis on the critical study of film, literature, the visual arts, and related audiovisual media.
Feminist Media Histories
Peer-Reviewed. 2015+
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
Peer-Reviewed. 1993+. GLQ seeks out new research into historical periods before the twentieth century, into non-Anglophone cultures, and into the experience of those who have been marginalized by race, ethnicity, age, social class, body morphology, or sexual practice.
Journal of Cinema and Media Studies (JCMS)
Peer-Reviewed. 2018+. Published by the Society of Cinema and Media Studies, this journal was previously published as Cinema Journal from 1966-2018.
Public Culture : bulletin of the Project for Transnational Cultural Studies.
Peer-Reviewed. 1988+. This interdisciplinary journal of cultural studies publishes field-defining ethnographies and analyses of the cultural politics of globalization.
Screen
Peer-Reviewed. 1969+. UK publication.
Social Text
Peer-Reviewed. 1979+. This journal focuses attention on questions of gender, sexuality, race, and the environment, publishing key works by the most influential social and cultural theorists.
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly
TSQ offers "a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives" (Duke University Press).

Find an Article by Title in LibrarySearch

Subject-specific databases

Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles about issues that influence women's lives around the world.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life & Issues Collection This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to historically-significant LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and books.

Research Guides

CIN3008: Queer Girls & Racial Others

Ask a Librarian Chat - click to start a chat session

Cinema Studies Librarian

Find an Article By Topic in LibrarySearch

Interdisciplinary Databases - Use Filters! (with videos)

Recommended Scholarly Journals

Find an Article by Title in LibrarySearch

Subject-specific databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us