This guide provide support in navigating the rich range of resources available through UofT Libraries, Toronto Special Collections (TIFF Film Reference Library, The ArQuives, etc.) and tips on how to build your searches and filter results to identify the best sources for your research. 

Additional Resources to explore: 

UofT Research Guides:

• Sexual and Gender Diversity Studies Guide
• Women and Gender Studies Guide   

Collections at UofT Libraries 

• Media Commons Archives 
  • UTL MCA acquires, preserves and makes available archival and special collection materials of regional, national and international significance relating to the audio-visual and media communities and popular culture.
• New College Library
  • Collections focused on Women & Gender, Equity, African, and Caribbean Studies
• University College Library
  • Collections focused on Sexual and Gender Diversity, Dramatic Arts, and Canadian Studies
• Mark S. Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies
  • Explore University College's Sexual Representation Collection
• Fisher Rare Book Library
  • Explore Fisher collections tied to LGBTQ history in Canada and around the world.

Other Academic Collections 

There are lots of ways to get research help right when you need it:

    Need immediate assistance?  Send a message using Ask Chat Service.

Ask a questions or schedule a virtual or in-person research consultation via email

• Contact the Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson at katej.johnson @ utoronto.ca  
  • Ask questions on how to find relevant research for your assignments and accurately cite your sources 
  • Book an online research meeting to discuss your research ideas, experiment with search strategies, gain experience with UofT and web research tools and keep track of your sources
• Contact other UofT Liaison / Subject Librarians for their expertise on navigating your research
  • Email your Liaison Librarian questions about access or research strategies
  • Book a research consultation / meeting to discuss your project and learn about UofT Libraries