Research Guides: Neuroscience: Databases & point-of-care tools

Where to look for articles

Once you've identified what you need to search for, you need to decide where to search for it. Research databases are an excellent place to look for scholarly information on a topic.

Why use research databases?

They are often specialized by subject area (e.g. Neuroscience, Psychology)
They contain information not available through public resources like Google
They are designed with scholars and researchers in mind - that's you!

Article databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.

Ovid Medline
Medline is the premiere database for biomedical citations. The Ovid interface is a powerful way to navigate the collection. You may access the same resources using Pubmed.
EMBASE
EMBASE is database of primarily biomedical and pharmaceutical citations.

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in psychology and mental health. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation index.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation index for peer-reviewed research, including journals, books, and conference papers.

Subject A-Z
Still not finding what you need? Explore our thousands of other resources by subject.

Clinical point-of-care tools

Point-of-care tools are resources which synthesize current evidence to aid with clinical diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment interventions. Updated frequently with references to relevant literature, they are designed for rapid use by clinicians at the patient point-of-care.

Note: some tools have certain user restrictions and registration instructions, as well as mobile access:

Connect to UpToDate
Mobile set-up instructions (UpToDate, Dynamed, BMJ Best Practice)

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Point-of-care clinical resource and decision-making tool containing medical and patient information, drug handbooks, and medical calculators.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
Tool for physicians and other medical professionals providing evidence-based clinical decision support.

BMJ Best Practice
Point-of-care tool that draws on the latest evidence-based research to offer step-by-step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and prevention.
Lexicomp
Point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical practice guidelines.
RxTx
Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care.

Research Guides

Neuroscience

Where to look for articles

Article databases

Clinical point-of-care tools

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us