The Birth of Industrial Britain [ONLINE] by 
NOTE: All of the collections below may be useful for the starting point of "Assignment #2" (artwork or photo of object created between the years 1800 and 1950).
An American organization made up of 19 museums, research institutes, libraries and archives.
They have a massive digital collection of images, 3D models, videos, stories as well as personal and corporate archives.
A significant portion of their "digital objects" are "open access" (free of copyright restrictions) and some files can be downloaded (enable the "Open Access Media" limiter below the search, as seen below).
You can still link to, embed or include a copy of single files from specific collections that are not "open access" and/or are listed as "Usage Conditions Apply." It's allowable under "fair use" (an exception provision of US Copyright Law) provided that you're sharing single files (not full exhibitions) for an educational assignment (or for personal, non-commercial use). See the Smithsonian's terms of use page for more information.
1. Enter general keywords to retrieve relevant results
2. Limit the results by "Media Type" (image/video etc.), "Date" of creation and more.
*To display the limiters/results filters, click "All" at the far right of the "Top Results" row.
Regardless of whether the digital object is "open access" or has other usage rights, you still need to cite your source, in all cases.
Search their digital collections where you can download small versions of images at no charge (the size/image resolution is adequate for posting online). You must cite your sources including at least the title of the artefact and the credit listed at the bottom of the descriptive information.
Search this online collection (UTORid login required as this is a U of T Libraries paid for database/collection)
"Highly visual trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera, tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries."
Additionally, you could try an SEARCH ALL PRIMARY SOURCE COLLECTIONS from Adam Matthew.
Artstor
Search the Smithsonian Institution online collection for names of inventions and inventors.
There are a few 3D models including one of the Wright Flyer
Image: Photo of the Wright Flyer (including Wilbur Wright and other figures) by Leon Bollee, circa 1903 Smithsonian Institution
See online exhibit from the Musée des arts et métiers (Paris) featuring several photos and a basic timeline on Louis Blériot, monoplane creator in France, first flight across the English Channel in 1909
English: Louis Blériot crosses the Channel
French: Louis Blériot traverse la Manche en avion
Image: Excert of postcard "Louis Blériot", A. Mellone editor, 1908-1914. Inv. 20431-0020.1908/1914 Musée des arts et métiers
A vast online collection of fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
A good place to search for ads of news stories about inventions form the 17th up to the early 20th century)
Large online collection of books, journals, newspaper articles and other ephemera produced in the nineteenth century
A subset of Smithsonian Institute but this page allows you to browse by broader subject (for inspiration if you haven't yet chosen a specific invention to examine).