Black Cultural Archive, United Kingdom
Black Cultural Archives was founded in 1981, by educationalist and historian Len Garrison and others. BCA’s mission is to record, preserve and celebrate the history of people of African descent in Britain. Since then Black Cultural Archives (BCA) has embarked on the journey to collect and preserve materials which redress the historical balance and representation of people of African and Caribbean descent in Britain. The archive collection is one of the most comprehensive collections that documents the history and cultural heritage of Black Britain.
The University of Minnesota Libraries, in partnership with the Penumbra Theatre Company, is launching Umbra Search African American History, a free and openly available online search tool at www.umbrasearch.org that facilitates broad access to over 400,000 digitized archival materials documenting African American history from more than 1,000 libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions across the United States.
Chimurenga is a pan African platform of writing, art and politics founded by Ntone Edjabe in 2002. Drawing together a myriad voices from across Africa and the diaspora, Chimurenga takes many forms operating as an innovative platform for free ideas and political reflection about Africa by Africans. Outputs include a journal of culture, art and politics of the same name (Chimurenga Magazine); a quarterly broadsheet called The Chronic; The Chimurenga Library – an online resource of collected independent pan-African periodicals and personal books; the African Cities Reader – a biennial publication of urban life, Africa-style; and the Pan African Space Station (PASS) – an online radio station and pop-up studio.
Asian Diaspora Archives
South Asian American Digital Archive - SAADA
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences. Centered on those in the U.S. who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
Muslim Diaspora Archives
Muslims of the Midwest: A digital Archive
The goal of Muslims of the Midwest is to provide a digital archive that documents some of the varied experiences of Muslims in the American Midwest through testimonies across generational, gender, geographical, socio-economic, and ethnic differences. Muslims of the Midwest is housed at Michigan State University and was largely funded by a University of Illinois Humanities Without Walls grant. It was also financially supported by the Michigan State University Muslim Studies Program.
International Archives
United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization Archives
Of all the journals published by the United Nations and its specialised institutions, the UNESCO Courier has always occupied first place for the number of its readers and the range of its audience, said the American journalist Sandy Koffler, the Courier’s founder and first editor-in-chief, in 1988. The magazine has changed a great deal over the years, both in content and in form. But it pursues its original mission: promote UNESCO’s ideals, maintain a platform for the dialogue between cultures and provide a forum for international debate. Available online since March 2006, the UNESCO Courier serves readers around the world in the six official languages of the Organization (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), and also in Esperanto and Portuguese. A limited number of issues are also produced in print.
Media Archives
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative, led by Eric Hoyt at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access. The archive has scanned works that are no longer protected by copyright. The project is supported by libraries and collectors of materials who loan them for scanning, and sponsors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
Canadian Broadcasting Company Digital Archives
This archive contains hundreds of digital resources (images, sound, narrative) organized in ten categories, including art & entertainment, economics, health, politics and war & conflict. The rich collection captures various aspects of Canadian social, cultural and political life and stores documents that illuminate Canada’s past, present and future. This website also has a search feature that allows users to search for current stories as well.
Diaspora Film Festival (DFF) provides Toronto audiences with an opportunity to experience the cultural mosaic of the present world through the medium of cinema.
You can search the films from the previous festivals in the library catalogue.
This collection consists of short films produced by directors in Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Taiwan, Cambodia, Vietnam and other Asian countries. The films are available in FADIS, accessible with UTOR ID and login.
Podcasts
Afropop Worldwide is an internationally syndicated weekly radio series, online guide to African and world music, and an international music archive, that has introduced American listeners to the music cultures of Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean since 1988. Our radio program is hosted by Georges Collinet from Cameroon.
Youtube
A Global History of the African Diaspora
Globalizing the Middle East: Migration, Diaspora and Transnational Communities
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
libraryhelp@utoronto.ca
416-978-8450
Map
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.
