Archive of Immigrant Voices, University of Maryland, College Park

In 2012, the Center for the History of the New America (now the Center for Global Migration Studies) established the Archive of Immigrant Voices to collect stories of the experience of migration. The purpose of the archive is to create, accumulate, and preserve a repository of memories that will not only reveal living history and features of the recent past, but will also document the fine lines of social change that might be otherwise ignored or lost to history. These stories will provide the basis for understanding how newcomers adapt to challenges and successes. The Archive unites the Center's mission to advance scholarship and teaching while enhancing the Center's connection to migrant communities by capturing, recording, and preserving the experience of migration, dislocation, and community formation as immigrants, asylum-seekers, refugees, and other newcomers themselves understood it. In addition to housing these oral interviews, the Archive also contains further information on the history of immigration, educator resources, and tools for conducting oral histories.

The Berkeley Revolution

This website is a collective project, one which emerged from an honors undergraduate seminar in American Studies at UC-Berkeley, “The Bay Area in the Seventies,” taught by Scott Saul in the spring of 2017. The eleven students in that seminar shaped their own research projects, burrowing into archives official and unofficial so as to recover the stories missing from, or hidden within, standard accounts of Berkeley’s history. This curated archive—with 300 documents organized across their six main projects—is the result.

Initiative for Student Teaching and Research in Chinese Canadian Studies

The Initiative for Student Teaching and Research in Chinese Canadian Studies (INSTRCC) at UBC was created to engage and empower students to conduct crucial and groundbreaking community-based research relevant to Chinese Canadian communities. INSTRCC seeks to gather and share the stories and histories of Chinese Canadians families and communities so future generations will be aware of the rich and complex stories that make up diverse aspects of Canadian history and identity.

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project

To preserve and share history of the WWII incarceration of Japanese Americans to promote equity and justice today. Densho documents the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy, and promote equal justice for all.

Korean American Digital Archive

The documentary record of the Korean experience in America remains dispersed and difficult to access. The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.

Pioneering Punjabis Digital Archive, Unversity of California, Davis

This archive offers a window into the story of South Asian immigrants from the Punjab region in north India to California since the turn of the twentieth century.  Explore over 700 video interviews, speeches, diaries, photographs, articles, and letters in which Punjabi Americans share their life stories, values, and contributions to California’s history over the last hundred and twenty years.