In Canada, most works pass into the public domain after fifty years following the end of the calendar year in which the author died. However, while a work may be in the public domain, a specific edition or image of the work may be under copyright. This is important to remember. Here is a list of resources that you can use to find usable images for your assignment:
To find out if books are in the public domain, you can search the Canadian Copyrights Database.
Corbis Images has one component where you can search through thousands of royalty free images, no fees and can be used for non-commercial and commercial purposes.
A photo sharing site on Flickr where institutes such as The Library Of Congress, Powerhouse Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, and various users can post and share images that have no known copyright restrictions.
Royalty free stock photos.
Free Public-domain Historical Clipart
Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and located in San Francisco, the Archive has been receiving data donations from Alexa Internet and others. In late 1999, the organization started to grow to include more well-rounded collections.
Hundreds available for teaching purposes.
In public domain.
High resolution digital stock photography. The site offers thousands of free images almost all that have no restrictions or agreements attached. In addition the site requires no login to download the high quality files.
25,000+ Public Domain Clip Art
Photo collections, film & video available for use in the public domain.
Stock.XCHNG is under new management! Getty Images is proud to now wholly-own the world's best free stock site.
For a further listing of public domain sites visit this website.
You need to set up an account, but there is no cost. Thousands of beautiful images available.
From the Libguide - Images and Visual Resources Collections, University of Toronto, created by Harriet Sonne de Torrens
University of Toronto Scarborough Library
1265 Military Trail, Toronto, ON M1C 1A4 Canada
Email help
416-287-7500
Map
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved.