• Library and Archives Canada
  • Black Canadians - Immigration History of Black Canadians from Libraries and Archives Canada

  • Anti-slavery Issues in Canada, 1830-1870 - A Selective Bibliography The present bibliography is restricted to primary material dating from the period when slavery was being debated and criticized in public discourse.

• A Black People's History in Canadian Schools 

Archives:

1. The Alvin McCurdy Collection

• ​​​Documents, photographs, and personal papers of Alvin McCurdy, a prominent Black Canadian historian held at the Archives of Ontario

2. The Black Canadian Experience in Ontario 1834-1914: Flight, Freedom, Foundation

• Online exhibit by the Archives of Ontario celebrating the contributions of Black Ontarians

3. Black Londoners Project

• Digital mapping and archival evidence of Black refugees’ lives in London, Ontario by Western University

4. Black History in Ontario

• This online exhibit by the Archives of Ontario details black history from the end of slavery to the post-war period. It includes many digitized primary sources such as documents, letters and photographs.

5. Ontario Black History Society Archives

• Offers a range of a range of African-Canadian educational materials, special collections and resources

Archives:

1. Montreal’s Negro Community Centre Fonds

   • Records and artifacts from the Negro Community Centre, highlighting the social and cultural contributions of Black Montrealers

2. The Little Burgundy Oral History Project

• Oral histories from residents of Little Burgundy, a historically Black neighborhood in Montreal at Concordia University

Oral History:

1. Quebec History X

   • Developed by historian and rapper Aly Ndiaye, this walking tour of Old Quebec highlights the history of slavery and the contributions of Black people in Quebec City

2. Blacks in Quebec History: A Forgotten Legacy

   • This project explores the African presence in Quebec from its inception as a French colony, including the history of slavery and the contributions of Black individuals

Archives:

1. Remembering Africville: 

   • Photographs, oral histories, and documents related to Africville, a historic Black community in Halifax.

2. The Black Cultural Centre for Nova Scotia

   • Archival materials, artifacts, and oral histories documenting the history of Black Nova Scotians.

3. Black Loyalist Digital Collection
   • Letters, petitions, land grants, and other documents that detail the experiences and contributions of Black Loyalists in the 18th and early 19th centuries
4. Being Black In Nova Scotia:
   • Personal stories, interviews, and historical analysis, highlighting both challenges and achievements of Black Communities in Nova Scotia
5. African Nova Scotians in the Age of Slavery and Abolition
   • Virtual exhibit from the Nova Scotia Archives reflecting the African Nova Scotians experience between 1749 and 1834.

6. Africville Museum

7. The Birchtown Black Loyalist
8. Black Loyalist Heritage Centre & Society
9. Native Born, a Brief History of the Black Presence in Pictou County
   • A Brief History of the Black Presence in Pictou County, Nova Scotia and its connection to the larger history of Black Canadians in Nova Scotia
10. Remembering Black Loyalists, Black Communities in Nova Scotia
    • Exhibit by the Nova Scotia Museum

Archives:

1. New Brunswick Black History Society
   • Dedicated to the research, analysis, documentation and preservation of New Brunswick's Black History.

Oral Histories:

1. Black Loyalists in New Brunswick

   • This project includes oral histories and documentation of Black Loyalists who settled in New Brunswick, highlighting their contributions and experiences.

Archives:

1. The Room exhibit: What Carries Us: Newfoundland and Labrador in the Black Atlantic
   • "An exhibit describing the cultural (and many other) contributions of African-descended peoples to societies on both sides of the Atlantic. In particular, the exhibition brings an African-diasporic perspective to Newfoundland and Labrador’s place in centuries-long global migration and trade relationships”
      

Oral Histories:

1. Unearthed: Slavery in Newfoundland and Labrador

   • This radio documentary and digital series examines the connections of enslaved Black people in the province, featuring personal stories and historical research.

Archives:

1. The Hogan’s Alley Society Archives

   • Documents and oral histories related to Hogan’s Alley, a historic Black neighborhood in Vancouver

2. The BC Black History Awareness Society

• Archival materials and oral histories documenting the history of Black British Columbians in Victoria, BC.

Oral History:

1. BC Black History Timeline

   • This timeline covers significant events and contributions of Black people in British Columbia, from the arrival of the first Black settlers in 1858 to present-day achievements

2. British Columbia’s Black Pioneers: Their Industry and Character

   • This collection of short stories highlights the everyday lives and achievements of Black pioneers in British Columbia, including their contributions to business, politics, and education

Archives:

1. Amber Valley: A Black Community
   • Exhibit by the University of Alberta
2. Black Settlers Come to Alberta (Alberta Online Encyclopedia)
   • ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Alberta, including Amber, Junkins/Wildwood communities and Obadiah Place.

3. Glenbow Library And Archives

   • Documents the human and natural history of Southern Alberta. It is also an unparalleled resource for researchers and students exploring local, regional and provincial history, political science, social studies, ranching, immigration, cultural studies, business, environmental studies, women’s studies, military history and the Northwest Mounted Police/Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Oral Histories:

1. We Are the Roots: Black Settlers and Their Experiences of Discrimination on the Canadian Prairies

   • This project documents the historical and contemporary experiences of Black settlers in Alberta, focusing on racism, marginalization, and discrimination

2. And Still We Rise: A Black Presence in Alberta, late 1800s – 1970s

   • This virtual exhibition highlights the formation of Alberta’s Black communities from the late 1800s through to the early 1970s

Archives:

1. University of Manitoba Digital Collections

Oral Histories:

1. Manitoba and the Prairies - A Research Guide

   • Resource by the Winnipeg Public Library to learn about Black History in Manitoba and the Prairies.

2. Amplifying Black Voices

   • This initiative focuses on elevating and reflecting the unique stories of Black people in Manitoba through storytelling and dialogue.

Oral history:

1. Black Settlers of Alberta and Saskatchewan Historical Society: In Their Own Words

   • This oral history project collects stories from elderly descendants of pioneering Black settlers in Saskatchewan and Alberta

2. Saskatchewan African Canadian Heritage Museum

   • This museum works to make the history of Saskatchewan’s pioneering settlers of African descent digitally accessible

Oral History:

1. The Bog: Charlottetown’s Forgotten Black Neighbourhood

   • This project explores the history of The Bog, a once-thriving Black community in Charlottetown, through oral histories and archival research

2. We Have Always Been Great: Black History on P.E.I.

   • This project gathers stories of Black Islanders, highlighting their contributions and presence on the island