Primary Resources

Primary sources provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation.

They are created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented.

(From: "Primary sources at Yale")

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
The Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals (AAI) is the only online index to art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century. The 42 journals indexed represent a nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. Since entire journal contents are indexed articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements the index is a valuable source of information on popular culture and industry, as well as artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and collecting.
Gallica: Bibliothèque numérique of the Bibliothèque Nationale
This is the digital repository for the Bibliothèque Nationale and a great place to look for 19th-century French news periodicals.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online provides full-text, searchable content from a broad range of primary sources including a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Selected with guidance of an international team of experts, these primary sources cover a wide range of academic disciplines and areas of study. They include works in Western and non-Western languages, and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other venerable institutions from around the globe.
Eight Centuries TM (Formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Eight Centuries is a comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images. This growing database contains 27,408,426 discrete links to primary source historical documents.
Paris Salons (1673–present)
The Paris Salon, sponsored by the French government and the Academy of Fine Arts, took place annually, and was a showcase of the best academic art. The Impressionists successfully exhibited their works outside the traditional Salon beginning in 1874. Subsequent Salons des Refusés were mounted in Paris in 1874, 1875, and 1886, by which time the popularity of the Paris Salon had declined for those who were more interested in Impressionism. (Wikipedia) This is a research guide from the Art Institute of Chicago.
World's fairs and expositions : visions of tomorrow
Includes primary source documents from exhibits between 1840 to 1940. The collection includes photos, newspapers, periodicals, books, general histories, exhibition catalogs, official histories, commemorative accounts, exposition publications, visitors' guides, lectures, technical reports, and promotional publications.

Research Guides

FAH346 - Impressionism

Primary Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us