The following sources were used to populate the Knowledge Synthesis Guide. 

Home

• Canadian Institutes of Health Research. (2016). Knowledge Translation: About us. Government of Canada. https://cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/29418.html

Getting Started

• Tsafnat, G., Glasziou, P., Choong, M.K., Dunn, A., Galgani, F., & Coiera, E. (2014). Systematic review automation technologies. Systematic Reviews 3(74). https://doi.org/10.1186/2046-4053-3-74

Different types of knowledge syntheses

• Booth, A. (in progress 2016). EVIDENT Guidance for Reviewing the Evidence: a compendium of methodological literature and websites. The University of Sheffield. DOI: 10.13140/RG.2.1.1562.9842

• Canadian Institutes of Health Research. (2016). Knowledge Translation: About us. Government of Canada. https://cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/29418.html

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

• Higgins, JPT & Green, S (eds) (2011). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions Version 5.1.0 [updated March 2011]. The Cochrane Collaboration. www.handbook.cochrane.org.

• Pham, M. T., Rajić, A., Greig, J. D., Sargeant, J. M., Papadopoulos, A., & Mcewen, S. A. (2014). A scoping review of scoping reviews: advancing the approach and enhancing the consistency. Research Synthesis Methods, 5(4), 371–385. doi: 10.1002/jrsm.1123

• Tricco, A. C., Antony, J., Zarin, W., Strifler, L., Ghassemi, M., Ivory, J., & Straus, S. E. (2015). A scoping review of rapid review methods. BMC Medicine, 13 (1). doi: 10.1186/s12916-015-0465-6

Assemble a Team

• Baker, P. R., Francis, D. P., Hall, B. J., Doyle, J., & Armstrong, R. (2010). Managing the production of a Cochrane systematic review. Journal of Public Health. 32(3) 448–450. https://doi.org/10.1093/pubmed/fdq058

• IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2011. Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press.

• Uttley, L., & Montgomery, P. (2017). The influence of the team in conducting a systematic review. Systematic Reviews 6(1). doi: 10.1186/s13643-017-0548-x

• Project Management Institute. (n.d.) What is Project Management? https://www.pmi.org/about/learn-about-pmi/what-is-project-management

• Gillies, D., Maxwell, H., New, K., Pennick, V., van der Wouden, H., Fedorowicz , Z., Ciaponni, A. (2009). A Collaboration-wide Survey of Cochrane Authors (pp. 1–19). The Cochrane Collaboration.

Develop your Protocol

• Cochrane Library. (n.d.). About Cochrane Reviews: Cochrane Library - What is a protocol. https://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-cochrane-reviews

• Hamel, C., Stevens, A., Singh, K., Ansari, M.T., Myers, E., Ziegler, P., Hutton, B., Sharma, A., Bjerre, L.M., Fenton, S., Lau, D. CW., O'Hara, K., Reid, R., Salewski, E., Shrier, I., Willows, N., Tremblay, M., & Moher, D. (2014). Do sugar-sweetened beverages cause adverse health outcomes in adults? A systematic review protocol. Systematic Reviews 3,(108). https://doi.org/10.1186/2046-4053-3-108

Eligibility Criteria

• Cochrane. (n.d.). Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions: About the Handbook. https://training.cochrane.org/handbook#about-the-handbook

• The University of Melbourne. (2020). Library Guides: Systematic Reviews: 5: Inclusion and exclusion criteria. https://unimelb.libguides.com/c.php?g=492361&p=3368110

Screening for articles

• Altman D. G. (1996). Better reporting of randomised controlled trials: the CONSORT statement. BMJ (Clinical research ed.), 313(7057), 570–571. doi:10.1136/bmj.313.7057.570

• Aromataris, E., & Munn, Z. (eds). (2017). Joanna Briggs Institute Reviewer's Manual. The Joanna Briggs Institute. https://reviewersmanual.joannabriggs.org/

• Belur, J., Tompson, L., Thornton, A., & Simon, M. (2018). Interrater Reliability in Systematic Review Methodology: Exploring Variation in Coder Decision-Making. Sociological Methods & Research. https://doi.org/10.1177/0049124118799372

• Marshall, I.J., & Wallace, B.C. (2019). Toward systematic review automation: a practical guide to using machine learning tools in research synthesis. Systematic Reviews 8(163).doi:10.1186/s13643-019-1074-9

• McKenzie, J. E., Brennan, S.E., Ryan, R.E., Thomson, H.J., Johnston, R.V., & Thomas, J. (2019). Chapter 3: Defining the criteria for including studies and how they will be grouped for the synthesis. Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.0 (updated July 2019). www.training.cochrane.org/handbook.

• Moher, D., Liberati, A., Tetzlaff, J., Altman, D.G., & The PRISMA Group. (2009). Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses: The PRISMA Statement. PLOS Medicine. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pmed.1000097

• Tricco, A.C., Langlois, E.V., Straus, S.E., (eds). (2017). Rapid reviews to strengthen health policy and systems: a practical guide. Geneva: World Health Organization. Licence: CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 IGO. 

• Tricco, A,C,, Lillie, E., Zarin, W., O'Brien, K.K., Colquhoun, H., Levac, D., Moher, D., Peters, M.D.J., Horsley, T., Weeks, L., Hempel, S., Aki, E.A., Chang, C., McGowan, J., Stewart, L., Hartling, L., Aidcroft, A., Wilson, M.G., Garritty, C.,...Straus, S.E. (2018). PRISMA Extension for Scoping Reviews (PRISMA-ScR): Checklist and Explanation. Ann Intern Med.169:467–473. doi: https://doi.org/10.7326/M18-0850 

Critical Appraisal

• Mayo Clinic Libraries (2021). Systematic Reviews: Appraising Pool of Citations. Mayo Clinic. https://libraryguides.mayo.edu/systematic-reviews/appraisingcitations

Data Extraction

• Brown, S. A., Martin, E. E., Garcia, T. J., Winter, M. A., García, A. A., Brown, A., Cuevas, H. E., & Sumlin, L. L. (2013). Managing complex research datasets using electronic tools: a meta-analysis exemplar. Computers, Informatics, Nursing: CIN, 31(6), 257–265. https://doi.org/10.1097/NXN.0b013e318295e69c

• Brown, S. A., Upchurch, S. L., & Acton, G. J. (2003). A framework for developing a coding scheme for meta-analysis. Western Journal of Nursing Research, 25(2), 205–222. https://doi.org/10.1177/0193945902250038

• Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library. (2020). Research Guides: Systematic reviews: Reporting the quality/risk of bias. http://guides.himmelfarb.gwu.edu/c.php?g=27797&p=170451

What are Systematic Reviews?

• Booth, A. (2016). Fifty Shades of Review with Andrew Booth. https://eahilcpd.wordpress.com/webinar-toolkit/webinar-toolkit-fifty-shades-of-review-with-andrew-booth/

• Cochrane Library. (n.d.). About Cochrane Reviews: Cochrane Library - What is a systematic review? https://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-cochrane-reviews

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

• Lasserson, T.J., Thomas, J., Higgins, J.P.T. (2019). Chapter 1: Starting a review. Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.0 (updated July 2019).www.training.cochrane.org/handbook.

What is a Meta-Analysis?

• Deeks, J.J., Higgins, J.P.T., Altman, D.G. (eds). Chapter 10: Analysing data and undertaking meta-analyses. Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.0 (updated July 2019). www.training.cochrane.org/handbook.

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

• Haidich A. B. (2010). Meta-analysis in medical research. Hippokratia, 14(Suppl 1), 29–37.

What are Scoping Reviews?

• Arksey, H., & O'Malley, L. (2005). Scoping studies: towards a methodological framework. International Journal of Social Research Methodology, 8(1), 19–32. doi: 10.1080/1364557032000119616

• Colquhoun, H. L., Levac, D., Obrien, K. K., Straus, S., Tricco, A. C., Perrier, L., … Moher, D. (2014). Scoping reviews: time for clarity in definition, methods, and reporting. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology, 67(12), 1291–1294. doi: 10.1016/j.jclinepi.2014.03.013

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

• Khalil, H., Peters, M., Godfrey, C. M., Mcinerney, P., Soares, C. B., & Parker, D. (2016). An Evidence-Based Approach to Scoping Reviews. Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, 13(2), 118–123. doi: 10.1111/wvn.12144

• O’Brien, K. K., Colquhoun, H., Levac, D., Baxter, L., Tricco, A. C., Straus, S., … O’Malley, L. (2016). Advancing scoping study methodology: a web-based survey and consultation of perceptions on terminology, definition and methodological steps. BMC Health Services Research, 16(1). doi: 10.1186/s12913-016-1579-z

• Peters, M. D., Godfrey, C. M., Khalil, H., Mcinerney, P., Parker, D., & Soares, C. B. (2015). Guidance for conducting systematic scoping reviews. International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare, 13(3), 141–146. doi: 10.1097/xeb.0000000000000050

What are Rapid Reviews?

• Booth, A. (2016).  Fifty Shades of Review with Andrew Booth. https://eahilcpd.wordpress.com/webinar-toolkit/webinar-toolkit-fifty-shades-of-review-with-andrew-booth/

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

• Haby, M.M., Chapman, E., Clark, R., Barreto, J., Reveiz, L., & Lavis, J.N.. (2016). What are the best methodologies for rapid reviews of the research evidence for evidence-informed decision making in health policy and practice: a rapid review. Health Research Policy and Systems. 14(83). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12961-016-0155-7

• Khangura, S., Konnyu, K., Cushman, R., Grimshaw, J., & Moher, D. (2012). Evidence summaries: the evolution of a rapid review approach. Systematic Reviews, 1(1). https://doi.org/10.1186/2046-4053-1-10

• Tricco, A.C., Anthony, J., Zarin, W., Strifler, L., Ghassemi, M., Ivory, J., Perrier, L., Hutton, B., Moher, D., & Straus, S.E. (2015). A scoping review of rapid review methods. BMC Med 13, 224. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12916-015-0465-6

What are Realist Reviews?

• Pawson, R., Greenhalgh, T., Harvey, G., & Walshe, K. (2005). Realist review--a new method of systematic review designed for complex policy interventions. Journal of health services research & policy, 10 Suppl 1, 21–34. https://doi.org/10.1258/1355819054308530

• Rycroft-Malone, J., McCormack, B., Hutchinson, A.M. et al. (2012). Realist synthesis: illustrating the method for implementation research. Implementation Sci 7, 33. https://doi.org/10.1186/1748-5908-7-33

• Wong, G. (2019). The rise and rise of realist reviews? https://www.cebm.ox.ac.uk/news/views/the-rise-and-rise-of-realist-reviews

What are Mapping Reviews?

• Booth, A. (2016). EVIDENT Guidance for Reviewing the Evidence: a compendium of methodological literature and websites. The University of Sheffield. DOI: 10.13140/RG.2.1.1562.9842

• Cooper I. D. (2016). What is a "mapping study?". Journal of the Medical Library Association : JMLA, 104(1), 76–78. https://doi.org/10.3163/1536-5050.104.1.013\

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x

What are Umbrella Reviews?

• Becker, L., Thomson, D., & Caldwell, D. (n.d.). Addressing Multiple Treatments I: Cochrane Overviews. https://methods.cochrane.org/sites/methods.cochrane.org.cmi/files/public/uploads/Becker%20-%20Intro%20to%20Overviews%20Keystone.pdf

• Booth, A. (2016). EVIDENT Guidance for Reviewing the Evidence: a compendium of methodological literature and websites. The University of Sheffield. DOI: 10.13140/RG.2.1.1562.9842

• Grant, M. J., & Booth, A. (2009). A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies. Health Information & Libraries Journal, 26(2), 91–108. doi: 10.1111/j.1471-1842.2009.00848.x