Please Review the CIN211 Guide's "Build your Search Strategy" page .

You will be better prepared on how selecting your keywords for film-specific topics, learn strategies of crafting searches to narrow or widen your search results using Boolean Search Operators and Modifiers and find a list of terminology for science fiction films that you can use as keywords.  

Understand how to Search for Articles in Peer Review Journals

Peer review journals have an additional vetting process that involves sending submitted articles first to research experts to assess. The editor sends potential articles to Peer Reviewers who assess the quality of research and writing. The Peer Reviewers offer corrections and suggestions and then the author has the opportunity to implement them and resubmit their updated article for consideration. 

• Use the guide's Navigation Menu to Jump to the ProQuest Platform (or scroll down).
• Found a great article? Learn how to identify if an article is published in a Peer Review Journal, take a look at the  "Is Your Journal Article Peer Reviewed" page in this guide. 
• Remember to look for RESEARCH ARTICLES, not film reviews. Watch for in-text citations and bibliographies. 

ProQuest  

ProQuest is a platform containing over 100 databases. ProQuest contains publications (i.e., newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, eBook titles, dissertation and theses) in different subjects areas including film. Remember you might find content in a non-film related resource from your time period, (i.e., newspapers, business or tech magazines).

1) Use the Advanced Search Tool  

2) Sort your Results 

• Sort your results (Relevance, Date) 
  • Sort by Date: It may be useful to arrange the results chronologically (oldest first) in order to follow the entire production process of a particular film, from gossip about potential stars to reviews and box-office grosses.

3) Using ProQuest Search Filters

Narrow your search results using filters on left sidebar:

• Peer Review
  • Click the checkbox if you are seeking journals with peer review editing process (papers are send to experts to assess and provide feedback to the author). Learn more about Peer Review Journals.
• Full Text
  • Limit to items that ProQuest can provide the PDFs or Text
• Source Type (e.g., Scholarly Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, Trade Magazines)
• Publication Title (e.g., Cinema Journal, New York Times, Variety)
• Document Type (e.g., Reviews - film or books, Feature, Front Page/Cover Story, Article, Literature Review, Interviews, Editorial, or try excluding advertisements)
• Subject:
  • Look for subject headings tied to the discipline or topic you are interested.You can order the results alphabetically by clicking on Subject at the top of the pop-up window.
• Language

Using the More+ link in Search Results to see all your Options

Several filters display a More+ link at the bottom that opens a pop up window containing all the filter options. 

• Left column (Include, Exclude) - Use the Include or Exclude checkbox to narrow your search 
• Centre column - Click on the heading in the centre column will reorder the list alphabetically.
• Right column (Count) - Order the filter based on the number of articles tagged with filter options 
• Click Apply to submit the search

4) Mark and save relevant resources.

If you find interesting articles, be sure to . 

• Go to the search results page and click the check box to the left of the article title  
• When you are ready to email the articles to yourself, scroll to the top of the results list and click on Email link (on right side) or click on the Folder icon in the top right corner of the screen. 
• Set your preferred citation style and email the marked records to yourself.

5) ProQuest Selected Items (Cite or Email Results)

• Database citation tools are not perfect. Remember to always check for accuracy.  
• ProQuest's cite tool generates a bibliography. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits or You can Email or Print any selected records.

Learn more about ProQuest 

More details can be found in ProQuest Search Tips Guide

Create a free ProQuest MyResearch account.

• Click on the person icon in the upper right corner of the screen to access MyResearch.
• Create a free account with your UToronto email.
• Save your searches and selected items in your MyResearch profile 

ProQuest is a research platform that contains many databases that are full of articles (e.g., journals, newspapers, magazines), dissertations, and eBooks. It also has a tool to filter your results to articles in peer-reviewed journals. 

Peer reviewed

When searching within a journal focused on science fiction, remember to review this guide's tips for building a search:

• Identify relevant keywords (title of film, names of people involved with film, scholarly topics for science fiction films)
• Understand how to combine your keywords for a search in a database platform with Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) or Boolean Modifiers (Quotations marks, asterisk *, rounded brackets)
• Apply database filters to narrow your search results or identify new keywords

a) Google Scholar 

•  Set up Google Scholar to recognize that you are a UofT Student: https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/linkit/google-scholar

b) Other Popular Databases

The platforms hold collections of eBooks and scholarly journals (in some cases magazines, trade/industry journals and other materials are available). 

• EBSCO

• JSTOR

• Project Muse 

c) Databases by Subject A-Z