HMU432: Topics in Twentieth-Century Music

Best Bets

• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 

  RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music, featuring bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing.

• JSTOR

  Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Other Great Journal Databases

• Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) 

  The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. You can use this resource to focus your searches, and then look for full texts of the articles at U of T.
  
  The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. Since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.

• Music Index 

  Citation information including abstracts of scholarly journals related to the study of classical and popular music.

• Music Periodicals Database 

  Citation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.

• Performance Design Archive 

  "With the Performance Design Archive Online, theatre students and researchers can now truly see "behind the scenes" of the world's greatest dramatic performances. Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music." (Publisher's note)