Skip to Main Content

Translational Research Program

Library resources for students to find health, data/statistical and industry/market information

Regulatory policy in Canada

http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/regulatory-process/

Canadian Health Policy Resources

Health Canada
Ontario Public Health Libraries Association
- Custom Search Engines and other resources
- Public Health Grey Literature Research Guide
Canadian Public Documents Collection
- includes publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups
- Select Canadian Public Documents Collection from the Collection drop-down menu
Health Library (Federal Science Library)
Public Health Agency of Canada
- Programs and policy development
- Canada Communicable Disease Report
  - 2004+
  - 1975 - 1991
- PHAC Periodicals and Serials archive
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
- produces a range of in-depth analytical reports as well as summary reports called Analysis in Brief, both of which are derived from CIHI's extensive information holdings and data analysis activities
- Research Analytic Files (Chass)
- National Health Expenditure Database (1975 - current): National and provincial data, summary tables and detailed reports
Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
- Publications
Institute for Clinical Evaluation Sciences (ICES)
- Publications
Community Health Online Digital Archive Research Resource (CHODARR)
Grey Matters: a practical tool for searching health-related grey literature (Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health)
- Grey Matters! Finding Grey Literature
Building on Values: the Future of Health Care in Canada (Romanow report)
Health policy (Government of Canada Publications)
Special Joint Committee on Medical Assistance in Dying (Parliament of Canada)
Legislative Library & Legislative Research Publications
- Health & Long-Term Care
- Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID)
Canada communicable disease report (1992+)

Health Management and Policy Journals

· Healthcare Financial Management: Journal of the Healthcare Financial Management Association

· Healthcare Risk Management

· Health Care Management Review

· Journal of Healthcare Management

· Healthcare Management Forum

· International Journal of Healthcare Management

· International Journal of Public Health

· Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law

· Journal of Public Health Management and Practice

· Quality Management in Health Care

· Journal of Women’s Health

· Nursing Management

· Journal of Aging and Health

· Health Economics

· International Journal of Health Economics and Management

· Excerpta Medica: Health Economics and Hospital Management

Health Policy Research Organizations

Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario

The Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario offers resources on best practices and professional guidelines in the healthcare sector. Under the dropdown Resources click on Best Practices and Professional Guidelines to find publications that discuss the role and regulatory expectations of Health Information Custodians. The site also offers a detailed overview of Ontario’s Personal Health Information Protection Act (PHIPA).

Cancer Care Ontario (CCO)

Cancer Care Ontario is a Government of Ontario agency that acts as the province’s cancer advisor. CCO provides research publications on improvements and innovations in clinical practice and cancer service delivery.

Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR)

The Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) is a multidisciplinary association dedicated to improving health and health care by advancing the quality, relevance, and application of research on health services and health policy. As the largest and most diverse association of its kind in Canada, CAHSPR provides members with unique opportunities for networking, research collaboration, and career advancement.

Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH)

The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) is Canada's largest mental health and addiction teaching hospital, as well as one of the world's leading research centres in the area of addiction and mental health. CAMH combines clinical care, research, education, policy development and health promotion to help transform the lives of people affected by mental health and addiction issues.