The 3D Angiographic Atlas of Neurovascular Anatomy and Pathology is the first atlas to present neurovascular information and images based on catheter 3D rotational angiographic studies. The images in this book are the culmination of work done by Neil M. Borden over several years using one of the first 3D neurovascular angiographic suites in the United States. With the aid of this revolutionary technology, Dr Borden has performed numerous diagnostic neurovascular angiographic studies as well as endovascular neurosurgical procedures. The spectacular 3D images he obtained are extensively labeled and juxtaposed with conventional 2D angiograms for orientation and comparison. Anatomical color drawings and concise descriptions of the major intracranial vascular territories further enhance understanding of the complex cerebral vasculature.
Recent advances in MRI, especially those in the area of ultra high field (UHF) MRI, have attracted significant attention in the field of brain imaging for neuroscience research, as well as for clinical applications. In 7.0 Tesla MRI Brain Atlas: In Vivo Atlas with Cryomacrotome Correlation, Zang-Hee Cho and his colleagues at the Neuroscience Research Institute, Gachon University of Medicine and Science set new standards in neuro-anatomy. This unprecedented atlas presents the future of MR imaging of the brain. Taken at 7.0 Tesla, the images are of a live subject with correlating cryomacrotome photographs. Exquisitely produced in an oversized format to allow careful examination of the brain in real scale, each image is precisely annotated and detailed. The images in the Atlas reveal a wealth of details of the main stem and midbrain structures that were once thought impossible to visualize in-vivo. Ground breaking and thought provoking, 7.0 Tesla MRI Brain Atlas is sure to provide answers and inspiration for further studies, and is a valuable resource for medical libraries, neuroradiologists and neuroscientists.
As a result of the increasing number of surgical procedures on the brain, head, neck, and spine, postoperative changes are being encountered more frequently on neuroradiological examinations. However, these findings are often unfamiliar to neuroradiologists and neurosurgeons and can be difficult to interpret. This book, which contains numerous images and to-the-point case descriptions, is a comprehensive yet concise reference guide to postsurgical neuroradiology. It will enable the reader to identify the type of surgery performed and the hardware implanted and to differentiate expected sequelae from complications. Topics reviewed include trauma, tumors, vascular disorders, and infections of the head, neck, and spine; cerebrospinal fluid abnormalities; and degenerative diseases of the spine. This book will serve as a unique and convenient resource for both neuroradiologists and neurosurgeons.
A unique review of the essential topographical anatomy of the brain from an MRI perspective, correlating high-quality anatomical plates with high-resolution MRI images. The book includes a historical review of brain mapping and an analysis of the essential reference planes used. It provides a detailed review of the sulcal and the gyral anatomy of the human cortex, guiding readers through an interpretation of the individual brain atlas provided by high-resolution MRI. The relationship between brain structure and function is approached in a topographical fashion with an analysis of the necessary imaging methodology and displayed anatomy. An extensive coronal atlas rounds off the book.
The fourth edition of Atlas of the Human Brain presents the anatomy of the brain at macroscopic and microscopic levels, featuring different aspects of brain morphology and topography. This greatly enlarged new edition provides the most detailed and accurate delineations of brain structure available. It includes features which assist in the new fields of neuroscience - functional imaging, resting state imaging and tractography. Atlas of the Human Brain is an essential guide to those working with human brain imaging or attempting to relate their observations on experimental animals to humans. Totally new in this edition is the inclusion of Nissl plates with delineation of cortical areas (Brodmann's areas), the first time that these areas have been presented in serial histological sections. The contents of the Atlas of the brain in MNI stereotaxic space has been extensively expanded from 143 pages, showing 69 levels through the hemisphere, to 314 pages representing 99 levels. In addition to the fiber-stained (myelin) plates, we now provide fifty new (Nissl) plates covering cytoarchitecture. These are interdigitated within the existing myelin plates of the stereotaxic atlas. All photographic plates now represent the complete hemisphere. All photographs of the cell- and fiber-stained sections have been transformed to fit the MNI-space. Major fiber tracts are identified in the fiber-stained sections. In the Nissl plates cortical delineations (Brodmann's areas) are provided for the first time. The number of diagrams increased to 99. They were now generated from the 3D reconstruction of the hemisphere registered to the MNI- stereotaxic space. They can be used for immediate comparison between our atlas and experimental and clinical imaging results. Parts of cortical areas are displayed at high magnification on the facing page of full page Nissl sections. Images selected highlight those areas which are thought to correspond with those published by von Economo and Koskinas (1925). A novel way of depicting cortical areal pattern is used: The cortical cytoarchitectonic ribbon is unfolded and presented linearly. This linear representation of the cortex enables the comparison of different interpretations of cortecal areas and allows mapping of activation sites. Low magnification diagrams in the horizontal (axial) and sagittal planes are included, calculated from the 3D model of the atlas brain.
This atlas instills a solid knowledge of anatomy by correlating thin-section brain anatomy with corresponding clinical magnetic resonance images in axial, coronal, and sagittal planes. The authors correlate advanced neuromelanin imaging, susceptibility-weighted imaging, and diffusion tensor tractography with clinical 3 and 4 T MRI. Each brain stem region is then analyzed with 9.4 T MRI to show the anatomy of the medulla, pons, midbrain, and portions of the diencephalonin with an in-plane resolution comparable to myelin- and Nissl-stained light microscopy. The book's carefully organized diagrams and images teach with a minimum of text.
Modern tomographic scans are revealing the structure of the human brain in unprecedented detail. This spectator progress, however, poses a critical problem for neuroscientists and practitioners of brain-related professions: how to find their way in the current tomographic images so as toidentify a particular brain site, be it normal or damaged by disease? The problem is made all the more difficult by the large degree of individual neuroanatomical variation. Prepared by a leading expert in advanced brain-imaging techniques, this unique atlas is a guide to the localization of brainstructures that illustrates the wide range of neuranatomical variation. It is based on the analysis of 29 normal brain obtained from three-dimensional reconstructions of magnetic resonance scans of living persons. It also provides 177 section (coronal, axial, and parasagital) of one of thosebrains so that the same structure presented in the section obtained in one incidence can be identified in the section of another incidence. An additional 209 sections of two incidences of two other brains with different overall configurations are included at the same incidences, so that readers canbecome familiar with the variability of standard images prompted by different skull shapes. Forty-six normal brains, segmented in to the major lobes, are also included. The atlas is based on a voxel-rendering technique developed in the author's laboratory that permits the reconstruction of thebrain in three dimensions. The technique permits the identification of major sulci and gyri with about the same degree of precision that can be achieved at the autopsy table. The volume contains 50 pages of color illustrations. The Second Edition of this atlas offers entirely new images, all fromnew brain specimens. Like the first edition, it will prove to be an essential tool for neurologists, neurosurgeons, neuroradiologists, psychiatrists, and neuroscientists, as well as medical and neuroscience students.
Ideal for students of neuroscience and neuroanatomy, the new edition of Netter's Atlas of Neuroscience combines the didactic well-loved illustrations of Dr. Frank Netter with succinct text and clinical points, providing a highly visual, clinically oriented guide to the most important topics in this subject. The logically organized content presents neuroscience from three perspectives: an overview of the nervous system, regional neuroscience, and systemic neuroscience, enabling you to review complex neural structures and systems from different contexts. You may also be interested in: A companion set of flash cards, Netter's Neuroscience Flash Cards, 3rd Edition, to which the textbook is cross-referenced. Coverage of both regional and systemic neurosciences allows you to learn structure and function in different and important contexts. Combines the precision and beauty of Netter and Netter-style illustrations to highlight key neuroanatomical concepts and clinical correlations. Reflects the current understanding of the neural components and supportive tissue, regions, and systems of the brain, spinal cord, and periphery. Uniquely informative drawings provide a quick and memorable overview of anatomy, function, and clinical relevance. Succinct and useful format utilizes tables and short text to offer easily accessible "at-a-glance" information. Provides an overview of the basic features of the spinal cord, brain, and peripheral nervous system, the vasculature, meninges and cerebrospinal fluid, and basic development. Integrates the peripheral and central aspects of the nervous system. Bridges neuroanatomy and neurology through the use of correlative radiographs. Highlights cross-sectional brain stem anatomy and side-by-side comparisons of horizontal sections, CTs and MRIs. Features video of radiograph sequences and 3D reconstructions to enhance your understanding of the nervous system. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, 14 videos, and images from the book. Expanded coverage of cellular and molecular neuroscience provides essential guidance on signaling, transcription factors, stem cells, evoked potentials, neuronal and glial function, and a number of molecular breakthroughs for a better understanding of normal and pathologic conditions of the nervous system. Micrographs, radiologic imaging, and stained cross sections supplement illustrations for a comprehensive visual understanding. Increased clinical points -- from sleep disorders and inflammation in the CNS to the biology of seizures and the mechanisms of Alzheimer's -- offer concise insights that bridge basic neuroscience and clinical application.
A regional and functional approach to learning human neuroanatomy New full-color images A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior. This trusted text thoroughly covers the sensory, motor, and integrative skills of the brains and presents an overview of the function in relation to structure and the locations of the major pathways and neuronal integrative regions. Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas also teaches you how to interpret the new wealth of human brain images by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. The authoritative core content of myelin-stained histological sections is enhanced by informative line illustrations, angiography, and brain views produced by MRI, and other imaging technologies. NEW to this edition: Revised and updated to reflect advances in clinical neuroanatomy and neural science Full-color illustrations have been added to enrich the text Chapters begin with a clinical case to illustrate the connections and functions of the key material Chapters end with a series of multiple-choice review questions Features and Benefits: Increases knowledge of the regional and functional organization of the spinal cord and brain, one system at a time Provides thorough coverage of the sensory, motor, and integrative systems of the brain, together with cerebral vasculature Promotes understanding of the complex details of neuroanatomy needed for accurate interpretation of radiological image Comprehensive atlas provides key views of the surface anatomy of the central nervous systems and photographs of myelin-stained sections in three anatomical planes Includes learning aids such as clinical topics, boxes, chapter summaries, and a Glossary of key terms and structures
Taking a uniquely visual approach to complex subject matter, this pocket Flexibook gives you a full understanding of the basics of neuroscience with 193 exquisite color plates and concise text. Following in the successful tradition of the basic sciences Thieme Flexibooks, this title presents anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology of neuroscience. You will find in-depth coverage of: neuroanatomy, embryology, cellular neuroscience, somatosensory processing, motor control, brain stem and cranial outflow, autonomic nervous system, and much more! The book is designed to supplement larger texts and is ideal as both an introduction to the subject and a complete study guide for exam preparation. It will prove invaluable for all medical and biology students.