PSY480 Special Topics in Perception

This book has chapters on visual perception assessment in Part II.

Assessment in Neuropsychology is a practical and comprehensive handbook for neuropsychologists and other professionals who use neuropsychological tests in their everyday work. Each chapter outlines assessment procedures for specific functions such as language, visual impairment and memory. Case studies are used to illustrate their applications, pointing the professional towards the most relevant assessments for their clients' needs, and where and how they can be acquired. Leonora Harding and John R. Beech also explore new developments in neurological and neuropsychological assessment and clarify legal issues. Assessment in Neuropsychology will be an invaluable sourcebook for clinical psychologists, neurologists and other professionals as well as those in training.

Neuropsychology is a specialized branch of psychology which focuses on the relationship between the brain and human functions including cognition, behaviour, and emotion. With an emphasis on a scientific approach which includes analysing quantitative data, neuropsychology follows an information processing approach to brain activity using standard assessments to evaluate various mental functions. This book examines the standardized battery of tests in neuropsychology, with a particular focus on forensic applications of these tests, suggesting that a united theory of assessment needs to be established. Bringing together multiple articles related to forensic neuropsychology, this book offers an exploration of the neurological and psychometric theoretical basis for standardized batteries as well as a comparison between flexible and standardized batteries. Ultimately, it is argued that a standardized battery of tests need to be used and explains the justification for the reliability of this approach, especially in relation to expert witness testimony. While doing this, formal procedures, including advanced mathematical procedures such as formulas and decision tree algorithms, are presented to be utilized in assessments. With its thorough examination of the theoretical and practical applications of a standardized battery in neuropsychological assessment, this book will prove helpful to clinical practitioners and attorneys using assessment for their cases. Provides a unified theoretical basis for a standardized neuropsychological assessment battery Shows the justification for using neuropsychological assessment in forensic applications Offers practical examples which can be used to create a standardized assessment battery

Neuropsychological testing can identify changes in cognition, behavior, and emotion; aid in determining the cause of the change (e.g., neurologic disease, psychiatric disorders, or developmental problems); and assist clinicians in planning treatment and rehabilitation. To use these tests properly, professionals need an authoritative source of advice and guidance on how to administer, score, and interpret them. Written by two leading experts in neuropsychological assessment, Essentials of Neuropsychological Assessment is that source. Like all the volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this book is designed to help busy mental health professionals quickly acquire the knowledge and skills they need to make optimal use of major psychological assessment instruments. Each concise chapter features numerous callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as test questions that help you gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered. Essentials of Neuropsychological Assessment provides comprehensive instruction on test administration, scoring, and interpretation. The authors also address practical and conceptual issues related to neuropsychological assessment in geriatric, pediatric, forensic, and other specialized settings, as well as the essentials of report writing and common neuropsychological syndromes.

This guide to the WAIS-III and WMS-III tests is written to help clinical practitioners achieve efficient and accurate interpretations of test results. The only interpretive guide to be based on data obtained while standardizing the tests, this reference source provides new models for interpreting results, as well as practical information on the diagnostic validity, demographically corrected norms, and accuracy of the tests in measuring intelligence and memory. The focus of information is to allow clinicians to reduce variance in the interpretations of scores, indicating how best to factor in socio-economic status of respondents, interpreting meaningful change in serial assessments, and scoring with alternate or omitted sub-tests. Also included in the book are chapters on accommodating clients with disabilities. The final chapter discusses frequently asked questions (with answers) on the use and interpretation of the tests, as well as practical issues to help make scoring time-efficient and accurate. KEY FEATURES * Only guide to be based on data obtained in the standardization of the tests * Practical examples given to help guide interpretation of scores * Focuses on information to make faster, more accurate scoring interpretations

'once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again' - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment is a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment provides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment offers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.