Research guides: APS1036: FEEL: Formative Experiential Entrepreneurial Learning: Market Research

Market Research

Market research in two parts:

Primary market research: interviews and other research involving YOUR (potential) customers, competitors, etc. done in the field.
Secondary market research: third-party market research on customer or user groups, relevant industries and competitors or partner companies

This page focuses on secondary market research sources you can access online. Some require UTOR sign-in.

Secondary Market Research Best Bets

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
eMarketer is a media and marketing data resource for digital marketing, social media, advertising, and e-commerce. It includes infographics, reports, benchmarks, articles, demographics and country information from a range of third-party data sources. Includes Canadian data and analyses.
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on news and analysis for developing or emerging markets. Useful for country-specific analysis of companies, as well as global market research reports. To access the database, click on the blue 'Client Login' link in the upper right-hand corner of the welcome screen and select 'All subscriptions' to search.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan provides access to international market and technology research and analysis in 15 major sectors ranging from healthcare and ICT to telecom and transportation, with a focus on new market opportunities and disruptive technologies.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 400 Canadian industry reports and more than 700 US industry reports. Reports include key drivers, performance data, outlook and competitive landscape.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
A premier resource for comprehensive data on the global capital markets and proprietary research and insights. A PitchBook academic account is required to access this resource.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A specialized search engine or portal for statistics. Includes data for 170 industries and 150+ countries. Sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals and government databases. Also includes reports with consumer and technology forecasts, trend reports, brand and company rankings, and other packaged reports. Use the sources referenced for each statistic to identify other avenues for research outside the database.

These resources require a UTORid for use. All end user terms apply.

Research Guides

APS1036: FEEL: Formative Experiential Entrepreneurial Learning

Entrepreneurship Librarian

Market Research

Market research in two parts:

See also:

Secondary Market Research Best Bets

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us