BIO409H5: Laboratory in Animal Physiology

Fully revised and updated for the seventh edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With more than 5,500 clear and concise entries, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. Over 250 new entries include terms such as Broca's area, comparative genomic hybridization, mirror neuron, and Pandoravirus.Appendices include classifications of the animal and plant kingdoms, the geological time scale, major mass extinctions of species, model organisms and their genomes, Nobel prizewinners, and a new appendix on evolution.Entry-level web links to online resources can be accessed via a companion website.

This best-selling dictionary is the most comprehensive and up to date of its kind, containing over 6,000 entries on all aspects of zoology. Complemented by numerous illustrations, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics,and physiology and provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. The fourth edition has been fully revised and updated and includes many new entries, for example, activational effects of hormones, aqueous humour, deprivation studies, immunization, and Psocoptera. It also features new terms from anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, neurophysiology, immunology,and evolutionary development.Recommended web links can be accessed via the Dictionary of Zoology companion website and provide valuable extra information by directing you to useful online resources and the homepages of relevant organizations. Detailed appendices include a list of endangered animals, the universal genetic code,the geologic time scale, SI units, and a taxonomic classification scheme based on the three-domain taxonomic system. Wide-ranging, authoritative, and with jargon-free definitions, this dictionary is an indispensable reference tool for students and teachers of zoology, biological sciences, and biomedical sciences, and a valuable resource for naturalists and anyone with an interest in animals.

This eighth edition of A Dictionary of Genetics contains over 7,500 up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written. The entries include the latest terminology, concepts, theories, and techniques, covering not only genetics but also such overlapping disciplines ascell biology, medicine, and evolutionary biology. The fully revised six appendices are a unique source of detailed supplementary information, including a chronology of scientific and technological breakthroughs spanning the period from 1590 to the present, lists of useful internet sites and journals, and a table of sample genome sizes and genenumbers. A Dictionary of Genetics continues to be the definitive reference work for students, educators, and clinicians in the field of genetics.