Research guides: BIO409H5: Laboratory in Animal Physiology: Find articles

Some background information about scholarly articles

Scholarly articles are available

for fee (e.g. subscriptions paid by the UT Library or user pay for use)
for free (Open Access. Author may be paying an article processing charge (APC).)

Versions of scholarly articles

pre-print (submitted to publication for review; released for discussion in pre-print server e.g. bioRxiv.org). For example: The Genealogical Sorting Index and species delimitation (pre-print from bioRxiv.org)
post-print (accepted peer-reviewed manuscript). For example: Evaluation of nanoparticle-ligand distributions to determine nanoparticle concentration (TSpace postprint)
version of record (formatted, final published version). For example: Chasing Ecological Interactons (from the PLOS Biology, a full open access journal)

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Highlighting the key components of the first and last pages of a scholarly article (version of record.) Presented by NCSU Libraries (http://www.lib.ncsu.edu)

Review articles

A review article is an article that summarizes the current state of understanding on a topic. A review article surveys and summarizes previously published studies, rather than reporting new facts or analysis. Review articles are sometimes also called survey articles or, in news publishing, overview articles. (Wikipedia)

Review articles can be found by searching either Web of Science (refine by Review) or Scopus (limit to Review)

Article databases

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Zoological Record Plus (ZR Plus), produced by BIOSIS, provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides an easily searched collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries.

And, for international Open Access content try BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library and currently indexed over 99,205,488 open access documents from "academic" sources.

BIO409H5: Laboratory in Animal Physiology

Peer Reviewed?

Decode journal title abbreviations

Some background information about scholarly articles

Review articles

Article databases