Research guides: History Resources at the UTM Library: History Resources

Databases for Peer-reviewed Academic Journals

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
☆ ABOUT RECENTLY PUBLISHED ISSUES OF JOURNALS (PAST 3-5 YEARS): In most cases, recently published issues of journals are not available through JSTOR. If you realize that access to particular articles via JSTOR is not available, use LibrarySearch to find them from a different platform.
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
You have access to electronic journal articles, but not ebooks. If you need ebooks, check a specific title via LibrarySearch.
Cambridge Core
Oxford Academic | Journals
HeinOnline
This contains Law Journal Library (Database).
Scholars Portal Journals

Area Specific Databases

Historical Abstracts
The major database for world history from 1450 to the present. Historical Abstracts excludes Canada and the United States, which are covered by America: History and Life.
America: History and Life
The major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including popular culture, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, and politics.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
This bibliographic database covers many topics pertaining to native North Americans, including culture, history and daily life.
Index Islamicus
Coverage: 1906 - current
Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
Africa-Wide Information
Main Coverage: 1978 - current
Africa-Wide Information is a multidisciplinary index to research and publications by Africans and about Africa. Produced by NISC South Africa, it combines dozens of databases sourced from Africa, Europe and North America.

Databases by Historical Period

L'Annee Philologique
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes abstracts of journal articles and information on books.
Brepols - International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Provides access to publications on the Middle Ages, 400-1500, and Renaissance, 1300-1700.
The platform includes Iter Press's books (e.g., The Other Voice in Early Modern Europe: The Toronto Series)

How to Use Oxford Bibliographies Online

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find primary sources and secondary sources, such as scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

Click and login with UTORID.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:35 -- Simple Search
2:46 -- India 'Mutiny' and 'Revolution,' 1857-1858 (entry) as an example
4:34 -- Finding Primary Sources and Secondary Sources
8:23 -- Get Help

Reference Sources

Oxford Reference: History
Oxford Research Encyclopedia
— African History
— American History
— Asian History
— Communication
— Latin American History
— Politics
— Literature
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.
Wiley - History
Cambridge Histories Online
The Cambridge World History
— Volume 1: Introducing World History, to 10,000 BCE
— Volume 2: A World with Agriculture, 12,000 BCE–500 CE
— Volume 3: Early Cities in Comparative Perspective, 4000 BCE–1200 CE
— Volume 4: A World with States, Empires and Networks 1200 BCE–900 CE
— Volume 5: Expanding Webs of Exchange and Conflict, 500CE–1500CE
— Volume 6: The Construction of a Global World, 1400–1800 CE, Part 1: Foundations
— Volume 6: The Construction of a Global World, 1400–1800 CE, Part 2: Patterns of Change
— Volume 7: Production, Destruction and Connection, 1750–Present, Part 1: Structures, Spaces, and Boundary Making
— Volume 7: Production, Destruction and Connection, 1750–Present, Part 2: Shared Transformations
Encyclopedia of World Biography (2nd. ed)

Suggested E-Book Platforms

The UT LibrarySearch allows us to search and find print and electronic books, including books published by Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Routledge. You can also go to their online libraries to find their e-books: For example,

Cambridge Core
Oxford Academic
Books from Oxford Scholarship Online, Oxford Handbooks Online, and Very Short Introductions have migrated to Oxford Academic.
de Gruyter
Edinburgh University Press, Academic Studies Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Fordham University Press, Gorgias Press, Harvard University Press, Medieval Institute Publications, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, Yale University Press, ISEAS Publishing, and more.
Scholars Portal Books
This online library includes university press collections: Chicago University Press and Canadian University Presses (University of Toronto Press, McGill-Queen’s University Press, University of British Columbia Press, University of Manitoba Press, and more)
Taylor and Francis Online: Routledge Books
For Routledge Handbooks, visit Routledge Handbooks Online (a separate website).

For the complete list of e-book platforms and collections, visit the Ebook platforms and collections page.

Quick Links for Primary Resources

UTM Primary Sources: Digital Collections
History Research [UTL]
Primary Source Databases [UTL]
How to Find Newspaper Articles in LibrarySearch
NOTE: Even when you see "No Online Access," click the title of the newspaper article. Contradictory to the message, you will see electronic options there.