History Resources at the UTM Library

Provides a wide range of primary sources in American History, African Studies, British History, European History, Holocaust Studies, Indian and Pakistani History, LGBT Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies, Russian History, Southeast Asian Studies, Women's Studies, and so forth.
You might want to search the collections via the UTL catalogue.

— PART I: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
— PART II: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
— Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Century
— International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
– – Gay and Lesbian Memory in Action (GALA), Johannesburg, South Africa
– – Australian Lesbian and Gay Archives, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
– – Lesbian Herstory Archives, Brooklyn, New York
— L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France

The texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change, enabling students and researchers to answer key questions about history, society, identity, psychology, race, gender, and culture.

Pamphlets from 1800 to the late 20th century cover history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more pertaining to Latin America's largest and most influential power.
Topics covered include colonialism, the Brazilian independence period, slavery and abolition, the Catholic Church, indigenous peoples, immigration, ecology, agriculture, economic development, medicine and public health, international relations, and Brazilian and Portuguese literature.

— British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance
The original manuscripts of seminal literary, religious, and philosophical texts and trace the prevailing social and cultural attitudes of the times through important historical documents like the letters of Alcuin and Lanfranc and the chronicles of Waverly, Glastonbury, St Martin’s, and Lichfield.

— British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
Literary manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era

— Anti-Cross-dressing Laws
— Lesbian Cross-Dressing
— FBI Surveillance of LGBT Organizations
— HIV Immigration Ban
— LGBTQ Employment Discrimination
— National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: Anti-Violence Project
— Robert Rosenkrantz Letters
— The Rainbow Curriculum
— The Wolfenden Report
— “Stop the Church”: ACT UP’s Protest

[Royal Institute of International Affairs] Key research topics covered in the archive include:
— Diplomacy and international relations
— Energy, environment, and development
— International economics, trade, and business
— International and national politics
— International security and law
— Global health security
The archive provides researchers with coverage of every region of the world, including Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Russia, and Eurasia.

— Module 1: Publications and Archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1920-1979
— Module 2: Publications and Archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1980-2008

SOURCE LIBRARY: the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library
— The Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals collection (1817-1949)
— Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949)
— Diplomacy and Political Secrets (1869-1950)
— Hong Kong, Britain and China (1841-1951)

[Gale] Primary documents include trial transcripts, case notes from renowned judges, documents from detective agencies, documents related to the development of the police force, crime-related broadsides, criminal justice- and crime-related periodicals, detective fiction, mystery novels, materials related to the theory of phrenology, true crime literature, prisoner photographs, and documents detailing statistics related to policing and crime.
All sourced are from institutions, such as the U.S. National Archives, the American Antiquarian Society, the U.K. National Archives, the British Library, the Library of Congress, Cambridge University Library, and so forth.

— The Security Service (MI5): KV 2, KV 3 & KV 4
— The Ministry of Defence: Communications and Intelligence Records: DEFE 21, DEFE 26, DEFE 28, DEFE 31, DEFE 41, DEFE 44, DEFE 60, DEFE 62, DEFE 63 & DEFE 64
— The Special Operations Executive: HS 7 & HS 8
— The Colonial Office: Intelligence and Security Departments: Registered Files (ISD Series): CO 1035
— The Cabinet Office: CAB 56, CAB 121, CAB 176 & CAB 301, and more.

Based on A.G. Ellis’s catalogue of the British Library’s collection, Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library includes examples from over 400 years of books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages from the period. Scholars can search on the full text of items in Arabic, English, French, German, Latin, Italian, Dutch, and Spanish while also being able to discover content in Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Syriac, and seventeen other languages.

— Module 1: Religion and Law
— Module 2: Sciences, History, and Geography
— Module 3: Periodicals, Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues and General Works

The collection includes English-language title and edition published between 1701 and 1800 in the UK, along with important works from the Americas.
It covers, history and geography, social science and fine arts, medicine, science, and technology, literature and language, religion and philosophy, law, and so forth.

Political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the 16th century well into the 20th century. The collection is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. It also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

— Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
— British Politics and Society
— British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
— Children's Literature and Childhood
— Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
— European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
— Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
— Photography: The World through the Lens
— Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
— Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
— Women: Transnational Networks

PERIOD COVERED: 1900s–2010s
The collections cover, for example, British Home Office Registered Papers Regarding British Fascists and Suspected Nazi Sympathisers, Searchlight Oral Histories Collection, Leaflets, Stickers, Posters, Electoral Ephemera from Fascist and Anti-Fascist Groups, and The American Radicalism Collection.

The collection contains pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount experiences of refugees before, during, and shortly after WWII. Highlights include:
― Record of the Department of State Relating to the Problems of Relief and Refugees in Europe Arising from World War II and Its Aftermath, 1938-1949 focuses on the department’s efforts regarding “how to deal with refugees displaced by persecution and fighting and unable to return to home in the war’s aftermath.”
― Archives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief, 1933-1960 documents this agency’s role in aiding refugees from Nazi oppression and survivors of the Holocaust, opening a window onto the inner workings of this NGO’s relief efforts.

[Archives Unbound] Emphasizing twentieth-century materials, Religions of America focuses on religious movements and their main organizing bodies as well as offshoots among regional sects or local churches such as: Adventist, Baptist, Black Church, Children of God, Christian Science, Church of God, Grace Gospel Movements, Hebrew Christians, Holiness Family, House of Yahweh, Identity Movement, Jehovah's Witness, Latter Rain Movement, Mormon, Neopagan, New Thought, Pentecostal, Sacred Name Groups, Theosophy, Unitarian Universalist, and Wicca.

The collection touches upon the political and religious life in North America and at times South America and the Caribbean. It features American and European views of the colonization of the Americas, the American Revolution, the days of the early Republic and Jacksonian period, the antebellum period, Civil War, era of Reconstruction and post-Reconstruction, the settlement of the West and the onset of the Gilded Age.

PERIOD COVERED: 1490–1896
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
PART I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition,
PART II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World,
PART III: The Institution of Slavery, and
PART IV: The Age of Emancipation.

The collection features, for example,
― Evolution of Flight, 1784-1991
― Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry
― World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow
― Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive

Go to top

This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents-personal narratives, pamphlets, addresses, political speeches, monographs, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works published between the 17th and late 19th centuries.

The collection examines the war and all its complexity -- its causes and consequences, its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, and more.

[Gale] This digital archive documents the revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the earliest protests in 1765 through the peace treaty of 1783.

— PART I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
— PART II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
— PART III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
— PART IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 1: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
— The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
Note: The old platform is still available.

The collection consists of a digital collection of historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes from around the world, focusing on France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Canada, Argentina, Mexico, India, South Africa, Australia, and so forth.
It includes International Law, Comparative Law, Foreign Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law, and Ancient Law.

Part I focuses on Europe, includes regulations, session laws, journals, and codes and commentaries. Included codes fall into several categories, such as Administration of Justice, Civil Law, Commercial Law, Military Law, and others.
Part II covers United States state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional conventions and compilations. The collection also includes commentaries on codes, drawn from Spain, Portugal, Italy, Latin America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia.

The collection is organized into separate units of British and American Treatises, enabling users to trace the evolution of modern law in Great Britain, Ireland, and the United States.
The monographs and materials in Legal Treatises include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches.

Describes the courtroom dramas that gripped American society, the British Empire, and the world.
In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland and Canada, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included.

PART I, 1620-1926
― Consists of US early state codes, constitutional conventions and compipations, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and published records of the American colonies.
PART II, 1763-1979
― Consists of US state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional conventions and compilations.

The collection consists largely of case files but also contains a great deal of correspondence, memos, administrative files, personnel records, meeting minutes, and documents related to the office’s history that add depth and context to key legal decisions of the Civil Rights Movement.

— Second Circuit, New York—one of the most influential, often cited in business and copyright law rulings District of Columbia Circuit,
— Washington, D.C.—especially relevant to cases on constitutional and administrative law
— Ninth Circuit, California—regarded as the most liberal of circuit courts

It offers primary sources for Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It also offers resources in the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy.
PART I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450–1850
PART II: 1851–1914
PART III: 1890–1945
The collection includes more than 30 percent of the content in non-English languages.
The majority of the material within this collection was collected by one man, Herbert Foxwell (1849-1936), a preeminent British economist and one of the most important collectors of economics literature.

Covers a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Topics include the outbreak and course of the Second World War, the end of colonialism in the global south, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, U.S. relations with non-aligned states in the 1960s, U.S.-Soviet relations in the era of détente, international trade, nuclear proliferation, conflict in the Middle East, and the War on Terrorism.

[Archives Unbound] PERIOD COVERED: 1914 - 1918
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London.

PERIOD COVERED: 19th and 20th centuries
Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch. It covers, for example,
— Collected Records of the Women's Peace Party: 1914-1920
— Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 1: Boston Area Second Wave Organizations, 1968-1998
— Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 2: San Francisco Women's Building / Women's Centers, 1972-1998
— Malthusian, 1879-1921 (formerly Women and the Social Control of Their Bodies)
— Planned Parenthood Federation of America Records, 1918-1974
— Records of the Women's Peace Union: 1921-1940
— Women and Health/Mental Health
— Women and Law Collection
— Women's Labour League: Conference Reports and Journals, 1906-1977

― Brazil's Popular Groups, 1966-1986
― Colección de Documentos Inéditos Relativos al Descubrimiento, Conquista Y Organización de Las Antiguas Posesiones Españolas de America Y Oceania. -- Madrid : M.B. de Quyros, 1864-1884
― Conquistadors: The Struggle for Colonial Power in Latin America, 1492-1825
― Despatches From U.S. Consuls in Havana, Cuba, 1783-1906
― Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record, Series 1: The Yale University Collection of Latin American Manuscripts, Parts 1-7
― Latin American and Iberian biographies
― Latin American Independence: 19th Century Political and Official Pamphlets
― Mexican and Central American Political and Social Ephemera
― Papers of Agustin de Iturbide, 1799-1880
― US State Department records on Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Cuba, Guatemala, Haiti, Mexico and more.

The collection includes:
— Bath Chronicle c. 1784-1796
— Calcutta Chronicle and General Advertiser c. 1788-1790
— Collection for Improvement of Husbandry and Trade c. 1692-1702
— English Posts with News Foreign and Domestick c. 1700-1709
— London Penny Gazette c. 1666-1792
— Loyal Protestant and True Domestic Intelligence c. 1681-1683

John Nichols (1745–1826) was a printer and former Master of the Stationers’ Company, biographer of Hogarth and Swift, and writer of a county history of Leicestershire.
The collection features many rare news media resources, including: Applebee’s Original Weekly Journal, Athenian Mercury, Flying Post or Postmaster, London Gazette, Mist’s Weekly Journal, Original Weekly Journal, Post Man or the Historical Account, and Tatler.
* The Female Tatler, the first known periodical with a female editor, and all four issues of The Ladies Mercury, an early example of a periodical aimed at women.

Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure/Sport
Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary, and Colonial

This collection has added:
— PART I: 1800–1900
Newspapers originating in England, Scotland, and Ireland
— PART II: 1800–1900
Newspapers of a number of significant towns and regions included in this collection: Nottingham, Bradford, Leicester, Sheffield, and York, and North Wales.
— PART III, 1741–1950
— PART IV, 1732–1950
Local and regional perspectives from towns as geographically diverse as Aberdeen, Bath, Chester, Derby, Stamford, Liverpool, and York
— PART V: 1780–1950
Newspapers from the Scottish localities of Fife, Elgin, Inverness, Paisley, and John O'Groats, as well as towns just below the border, such as Morpeth, Alnwick, and more.

The (London) Times is the world's oldest continuously published newspaper.

Founded in 1902 as a supplement to The Times (London), for more than 100 years the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. From Anglo-centric beginnings in 1902, by the mid-20th century the TLS had developed into an international publication, with contributors from every region of the world. The TLS covers far more than just literature, featuring major articles on subjects from anthropology to zoology, philosophy to politics, comedy to psychology.

The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on Oct. 20th, 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it.
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times with its own remit and perspective on the news.

With its debut in 1842, the Illustrated London News became the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events – including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science. For example,
― Military History: War artists were sent to cover the 1848 revolution in France, the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the Boer War, and World Wars I and II
― Politics: Fine illustrations chronicle the great statesmen of the Victorian era, including Peel, Wellington , Palmerston, Disraeli, and Gladstone and their cabinets. The ILN also documents the major players during the two world wars and the years in between
― Social History: Illustrated coverage of servants, female suffrage, strikes, homes, crime, leisure, emigration, and religion

Newspapers included are:
New York Herald (NY), Lynchburg Virginian (VA), Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI), Rocky Mountain News (CO), Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago), Milwaukee Sentinel (WI), The Bee (OH), The Mountaineer (SC), and so forth.

Over 8,000 issues will provide:
— Editorials, news, commentary and letters that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs
— Country reports, industry reports, supplements, and surveys that offer the ability to track regional trends and forecasts.
— Special surveys and supplements on countries and industries that offer perspectives on markets and geographies
— Renowned sections such as "Science and Technology" that provide in-depth topic analysis, as well as book reviews and obituaries that lend human interest, and forth.

Launched in 1855, The Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of stamp duty and signalling the first step towards the mass-market journalism of The Daily Mail.
Directed at a wealthy, well-educated readership, the newspaper is commonly associated with traditional Toryism despite its more liberal beginnings, especially in regard to foreign policy.

The paper began as a City of London news sheet and grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world.
Initially focused on the global financial and economic issues that were to become the predominant forces of the twentieth century, the Financial Times expanded coverage in the postwar years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy, and international politics.

Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain," the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. It currently boasts a circulation of over 2 million, and its website is the most visited news site in the world.

Founded in 1903, the (Daily) Mirror plays a pivotal role in the history of journalism. Peaking in 1967, with a daily circulation of 5.25 million, the newspaper has had a history full of highs and lows. Today, it is the only mainstream left-wing tabloid remaining in the UK.

The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. With major contributors including E. M. Forster, George Orwell and Bertrand Russell, it also provided an important platform for new writers and poets; W. H. Auden, Sylvia Plath and Philip Larkin being notable examples. As well as expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also discussed major literary and musical programmes. 10% of its content was not connected to broadcasting at all, and it regularly reviewed new books.

Picture Post's innovative use of photojournalism captured the imagination of the British people. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.

[Gale] The collections consist of
— European Bureaus Collection
Provides coverage of the 20th century’s most influential international bureaus—Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin, and Prague—as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent.
— The Middle East Bureaus Collection
With stories stemming from Jerusalem, Ankara, Beirut, and their surrounding areas, these records include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy – the versions that AP sent on to its member newspapers, which members were then free to alter.
— News Features & Internal Communications
Highlights the interpretive and analytic side of journalism and tells the story of the Associated Press itself.
— U.S. City Bureaus Collection
Offers access to records from the AP’s Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.
— Washington, D.C. Bureau Collection, Part I
Provides access to bureau records documenting the administrations of eleven US presidents (1938-2009).
— Washington D.C. Bureau Collection, Part II
Covers the presidencies of Wilson, Harding, and Coolidge, providing an unbroken chronology of global and national events as reported by the AP from 1915 to 1930.

The collection includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. Common themes depicted in antebellum periodicals reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, western expansion, and regional political differences were a daily reality for many Americans. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented, documenting the conflict and its aftermath from a variety of perspectives and allowing readers to bear witness to this pivotal period in American history. Early 20th century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.

An extensive collection of amateur publications were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century.

For twenty-six years, the magazine charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America through its three most significant decades. The magazine flourished when illustrated magazines were the most important form of mass entertainment.

PERIOD COVERED: 1888–present
The Library covers the iconic National Geographic magazine to the popular National Geographic Traveler and hundreds of books, maps, videos, and images.

The newspaper was originally set up as the European edition of the New York Herald, a newspaper that was closed down in 1966, at which point the European paper changed its name to the International Herald Tribune. It has always had an independent editorial spirit from its various US sister papers, and has a strong focus on objective reporting of international news.

[Archives Unbound] PERIOD COVERED: 1786 - 1933
[Archives Unbound] Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England.
Publications include: Anti-Polygamy Standard 1880-1883, Birth Control Review 1917-1940, Everyday Housekeeping, The Anti-Suffragist 1908-1912, The Freewoman 1911-1912, Women's Suffrage Journal 1871-1890, and more.

Featuring journalists and columnists from across the political spectrum, this major British daily national newspaper is generally regarded as centrist, presenting fresh, alternative views on the free market, social issues, and culture. In the 1990s, The Independent scored a series of scoops when it published three separate interviews by its Middle East correspondent Robert Fisk with a then little-known Osama bin Laden.

More than 2 million images across disciplines from 280+ contributors serving over 1,800 universities, schools, and museums

Go to top

– Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
– Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
– Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
– Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
– Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
– Manchester Selected Pamphlets (1799-1900)
– Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
– Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
– Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)

Click Other Countries to see more documents, other than U.S., Canada, Germany, U.K., International Law and Organizations, and Special Focus Collections.

Canada’s public film producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) creates social-issue documentaries, auteur animation, and digital content, providing the world with a unique Canadian perspective.

This collection features 64 newspapers from throughout Africa, all published before 1901.
See the title list.
Online access to ten newspapers published in Djibouti, Egypt, Ghana, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, and South Africa.

See the title list.
Online access to ten newspapers published in Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and South Africa.

This database contains news reports about apartheid from South Africa and from around the world. The reports include transcripts of radio and television broadcasts as well as articles from newspapers.

This database contains news articles, radio transcripts, and television transcripts from around the world.
They were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision makers.
Where necessary, the materials were translated into English from their original language. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.
A few examples:
Beijing Renmin Ribao (China), Moscow Pravda (Soviet Union), Le Figaro (France), Johannesburg Radio South Africa Network, and Delhi All India Radio Network.

The publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
– Slavery and Antebellum Era (1825 to 1860)
– U.S. Civil War (1861 to 1865)
– Reconstruction and Post War South (1866 to 1895)
– Segregation and the Rise of Black Protest Thought (1896 to 1920)
– African American Culture in the New Era (1921 to 1945)
– Civil Rights Era (1946-1960)
– The Second Reconstruction (1961-1972)
– Modern / Contemporary Era (1973-1998)

Coverage: From the mid 1860’s to the early 1880’s, the end of the Civil War to Jim Crow.
This collection covers subjects, such as the development of African-American identity; descriptions of African- American life—both slave and free; slavery and race; eyewitness accounts of African-American life in the South, the North, and elsewhere; and official reports on the “progress” of African Americans. Also included are important works of African-American individuals and organizations and works of fiction, poetry and drama.

This collection covers many topical categories such as the growing body of work by African- American writers; the portrayal of African-Americans in art and literature; religion; race; early histories of slavery; the Civil War; Reconstruction; and others.

This collection offers more than 150,000 early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials.
— Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia
— American Children’s Books, Series 1-3, 1654-1819
— American Sermons, Series 1 & 2, 1652-1819
— African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922
— African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883
— American Broadsides and Ephemera (1749-1900)
— American Pamphlets, Series 1, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society
— Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia
— Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia
— Early American Imprints, 1639-1819
— Native American Indians, 1645-1819
— Nineteenth-Century American Drama: Popular Culture and Entertainment, 1820-1900
— The American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society
— The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society

Coverage: from 1690 to the recent past.
Contains 23 databases, such as African American Newspapers, Series 1, African American Newspapers, Series 2, Caribbean Newspapers, and Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971.
☆ See the title list.

It covers over 400 current and historical Black publications. Suggested Searchers includes:
— Arrival in America (Beginning - 1783)  — Antebellum (1784 - 1860)
— Civil War (1861 - 1865)  — Reconstruction (1866 - 1877)
— Jim Crow (1878 - 1922)  — Great Migration (1923 - 1944)
— Civil Rights Movement (1945 - 1975)

Focus: Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.

SOURCE: the Bureau of Indian Affairs Field Office and Central Office Records at the American National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
It contains all the manuscript letters and reports that the superintendents sent to Washington, D.C., as well as the responses and instructions received from the nation’s capital.
Native tribes from every region of the contiguous United States include: Apache, Arapaho, Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Kickapoo, Kiowa, Klamath, Lummi, Mandan, Mojave, Navajo, Nez Perce, Osage, Potawatomi, Pueblo, Seminole, Sioux, Ute and numerous others.

This collection includes a wide variety of works such as historical plays, melodramas, political satires, minstrel shows, comic operas, musical extravaganzas, parlor entertainments, adaptations of novels, and many others.

From crime and scandal to brothels and blackmail, the Flash Press covered the seamier aspects of urban life in the mid-19th century. Though stopping well short of pornography the editors played a delicate game with the authorities, often moralizing against the very topics they covered, which included prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes.

Coverage: From the early 19th century to the late 20th – the Antebellum period to the modern era.
This archive contains varied perspectives on subjects including but not limited to: Emancipation of slaves, Reconstruction in the South, Legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr., Discrimination in justice administration, Loss of political rights, School desegregation, Censorship, Women's rights, Refugees, Chinese exclusion, Japanese-American internment, Election law and voters' rights, and Child labor.
The content in this database was submitted to and published by the United States Congress. The collection includes publications and reports from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, congressional committees, special investigations, and non-governmental organizations.

This collection contains legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses

From 15th Congress (March 4, 1817 - March 3, 1819) to 103rd Congress (January 5, 1993 - December 1, 1994).
Among the countless topics addressed are women’s suffrage and minority rights; environment, energy and natural resources; Native American life; race relations, international relations; wars, worldwide discovery and exploration; and investigations of all kinds.

This collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East and the Soviet Union.

This database contains news reports, television transcripts, and radio transcripts from around the world. The reports were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) – which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947 – to be disseminated among government officials and decision makers.
The reports begin with the refugee flows during World War II and cover all crises through 1996.
The reports come from many nations and, where necessary, were translated into English. No U.S. newspapers or broadcasts are included in this database.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), under the authority of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), selected, transcribed and translated foreign-language broadcast and print news items as part of its intelligence gathering operations. FBIS analysts curated sources from around the world, with a particular focus on the news outlets located in the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, China, North Korea, Vietnam and other hotspots. This database encompasses a portion of the FBIS archive from the Cold War focused on key issues, events and people of that era.

See the title list.
India: Indian People, Leader, Pioneer, Banker Darpan, Kayasare Hinda, Amrita Bazar Patrika, Madras Mail
Pakistan: Tribune, Sri Lanka: Ceylon Observer.

See the title list.
Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela.

See the title list.
Featuring titles from Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Venezuela.

Primary texts include writers active between 701 and 1901, plus Roman and Greek authors — from Aeschylus, Austen, Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, and Donne through to Plato, Virgil, and Wordsworth. See the title lists.
A widget enabling users to look up words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary, ed. P. G. W. Glare (2nd edn, 2012), is included for all users of the Latin content on Oxford Scholarly Editions Online.