Research guides: HIS372H5: The United States in the 20th Century: Finding Articles

Online Database of Peer-reviewed Academic Journals

JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
☆ ABOUT RECENTLY PUBLISHED ISSUES OF JOURNALS (PAST 3-5 YEARS): In most cases, recently published issues of journals are not available through JSTOR. If you realize that access to particular articles via JSTOR is not available, use LibrarySearch to find them from a different platform.
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides full-text versions of scholarly journals from university presses and scholarly societies.
You have access to electronic journal articles, but not ebooks. If you need ebooks, check a specific title via LibrarySearch.
Cambridge Core
Oxford Academic | Journals
America: History and Life
The major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present, including popular culture, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, and politics.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
A major database on native North Americans. The Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America covers the history, life and culture of North America’s indigenous peoples.

Tips for Database Searching

To find relevant articles and information in a database, you need to create a search to tell the system to find journal articles on your topic and identify keywords and form a search request.

Successful searching often needs Boolean Searching (Using AND and OR) and Truncation: e.g., asterisk (*).

DON'T PANIC at these terms, you probably know how to do this already. However, just to make sure everyone is aware of these tips, here are two tutorials to make sure.

What Type of Information Are You Using?

Ulrichsweb.com
If you are not sure whether a journal is peer-reviewed or not, this database is very helpful.
Instead of using "peer reviewed," they use referred.
➤ ➤ Watch our video on "Peer Review Check with Ulrichsweb" if you would like to learn more about it.

0:00 – How to find Ulrichsweb, using LibrarySearch
0:51 -- Remember to type in the JOURNAL title, not the article title
1:58 -- Make sure your article is a research article, since peer reviewed journals have other content
3:21 -- You can access the journal through Ulrichsweb

The following video was created by Cambridge University Press. They show the importance of the peer-review process: