HIS372H5: The United States in the 20th Century

Particular strengths of Archives Unbound include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.
— American Studies

PERIOD COVERED: 1800-1980
Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the Americas and Australasia.
Thematic Areas cover, Motives for Emigration, Arrivals: Ports and Early Experiences, Displaced Persons and Refugees, Religion, Ethnic Identity and Community Relations, Responses to Immigration, Politics, Legislation and Governance, Permanent Settlement and Successive Generations, and so forth.

Highlights
— The birth of the railways and industry, the Hudson’s Bay Company, trade, economy and agriculture, sheries and shipping
— Native Americans, border disputes, slavery and apprenticeship, the Morant Bay rebellion
— Prohibition, the Ku Klux Klan, Nazi activities in Chile, McCarthyism
— The League of Nations, US nancial position, Lend-Lease, Pearl Harbor and the entrance of the USA into the World War II
— Spheres of influence in Latin America, nuclear policy and US-Canadian relationships

PERIOD COVERED: 1943-1970
The collection includes:
— Over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches given by prominent members of the Civil Rights Movement, eminent sociologists, economists, industrial experts and psychologists.
— A wealth of survey material covering school desegregation, church integration, employment practices, housing and recreation.
— Detailed case studies and community self-surveys on key cities across the United States.

— Bills & Laws 1789–Present
— Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817–2018
— Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789–Present
— CRS Reports 1916–2018
— Hearings 1824–Present
— House & Senate Documents 1817–2016
— House & Senate Reports 1817–2016
— Serial Set 1789–2016
— Serial Set Maps 1789–Present
— Executive Branch Documents 1933–1945
— Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789–Present
See also ProQuest Legislative Insight: Banking and Finance, Civil Rights, Education, Immigration, and Water

Covers a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection brings together the most sensitive documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies.
Topics include the outbreak and course of the Second World War, the end of colonialism in the global south, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, U.S. relations with non-aligned states in the 1960s, U.S.-Soviet relations in the era of détente, international trade, nuclear proliferation, conflict in the Middle East, and the War on Terrorism.

Content includes:
— Pre-1948: claims presented to Congress and/or brought before the Court of Claims;
— 1948-1978: Indian Claims Commission, including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts;
— Post-1978: Claims brought before the US Court of Claims (through 1982) and US Court of Federal Claims (through 2006); documents related to post-2006 settlement of claims; legislative histories and congressional publications directly related to Indian claims, including congressional publications indexed by docket numbers; important Supreme Court decisions; and maps.

Over 8,000 issues will provide:
— Editorials, news, commentary and letters that afford insight into British, European, American, and world affairs
— Country reports, industry reports, supplements, and surveys that offer the ability to track regional trends and forecasts.
— Special surveys and supplements on countries and industries that offer perspectives on markets and geographies
— Renowned sections such as "Science and Technology" that provide in-depth topic analysis, as well as book reviews and obituaries that lend human interest, and forth.

PERIOD COVERED: 1888–present
The Library covers the iconic National Geographic magazine to the popular National Geographic Traveler and hundreds of books, maps, videos, and images.

The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia. Check Personal Events before seaching.

Works include:
– The Reminiscences of General Basil W. Duke (1911) contains not only military affairs in the West, but also politics, social life in the South, prison life, and the fleeing of the government from Richmond at war's end
– Jefferson Davis, Ex-President of the Confederate States of America: A Memoir by His Wife (1890), by Varina Howell Davis
– The diary of Gideon Welles, who was Secretary of the Navy under Lincoln and Johnson
– Soldier Boy's Letters to His Father and Mother 1861-5, by Chauncey H. Cooke

Interview Dates: 1930s–2000s
Historical Events are about U.S. Civil War, 1861-1865, World War I, 1914-1918, World War II, 1939-1945, Cold War, 1945-1989, Korean Conflict, 1950-1953, Vietnam Conflict, 1955-1975, Persian Gulf War, 1991, and so forth.

PERIOD COVERED: 1939-1949
The collection includes: for example,
— Memories of Wanda Damberg, a Dutch civilian woman imprisoned in Manila by the Japanese, who smuggled medicine into the camp with the aid of a Jesuit priest.
— Account by Dorothy Lucas, member of the Women’s Air Force Service Pilots (WASPs) who transported planes and flew as a target tow pilot.

This collection contains many films that were produced during the decades of the 1930s and 1940s in U.S. and some British and Danish films. Film production companies/Studios include Warner Brothers, RKO Pictures, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Columbia Pictures, etc.
Volume 1: more than 1,000 scripts of American cinema's greatest classic films. Notable scripts in this collection include The Wizard of Oz, Singin’ in the Rain, Ben Hur, Casablanca, American Gigolo, Raging Bull, The Maltese Falcon, Unforgiven, Blade Runner (draft script & 2nd script), State and Main, Hotel Rwanda.
Volume II: 500 new screenplays from StudioCanal, Ealing Studios, Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Warner Brothers, and others. Film origins go beyond American classic cinema to include international and contemporary films.