Research Guides: CSC358H5: Principles of Computer Networks: Secondary and Scholarly Sources

Secondary Sources (for Background)

These sources are full-text. You can download PDFs of chapters and do full-text searching to find what you need:

Network Security by Christos Douligeris; Dimitrios Nikolaou Serpanos; Dimitrios N. Serpanos
ISBN: 0471703559
Publication Date: 2007-06-15
A unique overview of network security issues, solutions, and methodologies. Covers a wide range of topics dealing with network security, including network traffic, secure routing, designing firewalls, mobile agent security, Bluetooth security, wireless sensor networks, securing digital content, and e-mail and VPN security.
Surviving Security by Amanda Andress
ISBN: 0203501403
Publication Date: 2003-12-18
This book provides a blueprint for creating and executing sound security policy. The author examines the costs and complications involved, covering security measures such as encryption, authentication, firewalls, intrusion detection, remote access, host security, server security, and the integration and education of people involved.
Network Security by Jan L. Harrington
ISBN: 0123116333
Publication Date: 2005-04-08
A comprehensive resource written for anyone who plans or implements network security measures, including managers and practitioners. It offers a dual perspective on security: how your network looks to hackers who want to get inside, and how you need to approach it on the inside to keep them at bay. You get higher-level administrative guidance for developing an effective security policy and technical advice including help with intrusion detection systems, firewalls, encryption, anti-virus software, and digital certificates. Includes a chapter (CH. 6 on "spoofing" and phishing).

Where to get Academic Sources

Some of your authoritative documents from domain experts will be found by searching these databases and portals:

IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards. Conference proceedings and technical reports may be the most useful documents for your report.

ACM Digital Library gives access to bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985.

Inspec® is the world's leading bibliographic database covering the fields of computing and information technology. Inspec includes over 8 million records taken from 3,400 technical and scientific journals and 2,000 conference proceedings.

EI Compendex® is a comprehensive interdisciplinary database covering thousands of international journals, technical reports and conference proceedings (including hard-to-find conferences). The database covers computer and electrical engineering and many other fields.

CoRR is the Computing Research Repository. Through CoRR, members of the computing research community can submit technical reports and conference papers. Due to the accessible nature of the database, submitted papers are not refereed.