Asian Religions

By K. Werner.
Richmond, Surrey: Curzon, 1994.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
This dictionary provides brief, general entries of Hindu religious terms and notable individuals. It includes a Sanskrit pronunciation guide and a history of the complex development of Hinduism. Though it lacks a bibliography, this book remains a good source for general readers seeking to learn about Hindu terminology and concepts.

By B. Walker.
London: Allen & Unwin, 1968.
Though dated, Walker’s two volumes explain many aspects of the Hindu faith and philosophy from the goddess Aditi to the impact of Zoroastrianism. It includes brief bibliographies at the end of each entry and an extensive index.

Translated by R.E. Hume.
London, New York: Oxford University Press, 1968, 1931.
A translation of the Sanskrit Upanishads, Hume’s work provides a list of recurrent and parallel passages. Hume also provides an excellent outline and bibliography of the philosophy of the Upanishads and other Hindu sacred books.

Edited and translated by Wendy Doniger O’Flaherty.
Manchester: University Press, 1988.

By A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada.
Los Angeles, CA: Bhaktivedanta Book Trust, 1986.
[For abridged addition see UofT Catalogue]
An illustrated guide to critiquing and interpreting the Bhagavadgita, one of the classics of Hinduism. It includes bibliographical references and index.

By D.J. Dell [et al.].
Boston: G. K. Hall, 1981.
Although dated, this annotated guide of over 12,000 entries covers topics such as Hindu history, practices, philosophy, sacred texts, arts, holy places, and research aids. The table of contents and index are extensive and make accessing materials straightforward. This book is useful to both researchers and students.