Asian Religions

Edited by Damien Keown and Charles S. Prebish.
London: Routledge, 2007.
Over 300 signed articles on Buddhist history, schools, texts, concepts, rituals, and places.

Edited by Robert E. Buswell and Donald S. Lopez.
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2013.

By Carl Olson
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2009.
A concise multilingual dictionary of terms related to the Buddha and Buddhism, this book includes a chronology of the religion, an outline of Buddhist scriptures, and an extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources broken down by topic.

By J. Snelling.
London: Century, 1987.
Snelling examines the Buddha’s life and teachings, the Buddhist worldview and practices, and the history of the religion, current development of the faith, and biographies of prominent Buddhists. It includes an index and a bibliography.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

By D.Goddard.
Boston: Beacon Press, 1970.
Selections taken from Chinese, Tibetan, and other Buddhist sources that study the historical Buddha and the practical and philosophical aspects of his teachings. It also offers a summary of the Buddha’s Dharma.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

A searchable site providing resources such as Buddhist history, iconography, ceremonies, sects, readings, directories and links to major Buddhist sites.

By K.K. Inada [et al].
Boston: G.K. Hall, c1985.
The guide provides annotated entries to more than 1,000 primary and secondary sources on Buddhist doctrines and philosophy. The majority of the works included are written in English. There are detailed subject and author/title indexes.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by T. Yoshinori.
New York: Crossroad, 1997.
Discusses the history and spiritual aspects of the different Buddhist sects and how each interprets the terms and teaching of the Buddha. It includes indexes, glossary, and bibliography.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

Edited by T. Yoshinori.
New York: Crossroad, 1999.
The online version is available on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.