Celtic Studies

By James Harpur.
M.E. Sharpe, 2008.

By Christopher R. Fee and David A. Leeming.
Oxford University Press, 2001.

By J.F. Campbell.
Routledge, 2013.

By Peter Berresford Ellis.
Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1992.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
A basic dictionary for the lay reader. Included are introductory reading lists to themes and figures in Celtic mythology.

By James MacKillop.
Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Dictionary of 4,000 terms from Celtic mythology.

Edited by Christopher Bruce.
Garland, 1999.

A dictionary of characters, places, objects and themes found in the legends of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. Information is drawn from major Arthurian sources from as early as Gildas's "De Excidio Britanniae" (c.540) to as late as Tennyson's 19th-century "Idylls of the King".

By Phyllis G. Jestice. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

By Carol Rose.
ABC-CLIO, 2000.

This encyclopedia describes individual beasts, offers cultural context, and explains mythological themes. The source is useful, not just for its entries, but also for its comprehensive bibliography and appendices.

By Boria Sax.
ABC-CLIO, 2001.

This encyclopedia about animals in world myth, legend, and literature, illustrates how animals and their symbolism are integrated into human values.

By T.M. Charles-Edwards.
Cambridge, U.K.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

By Richard Sharpe.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1990.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

By Kathleen Hughes.
London: Methuen, 1966.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

By Patricia Monaghan.
New York: Facts on File, 2004.
Aimed at the general reader, this reference work provides concise information on Celtic traditions from Ireland, Scotland, Britain, Wales, Brittany, central France, and Galicia in northwestern Spain. It includes descriptions of the Celts' religious beliefs, rituals, stories, songs, tales, and oral histories. There are some 1000 entries arranged alphabetically in dictionary format, which average between one to two paragraphs in length. There is also an extensive bibliography and a helpful index.

By Alwyn Rees and Brinley Rees.
London: Thames and Hudson, 1961.

By Miranda J. Green.
London: Thames and Hudson, 1997.

By Proinsias Mac Cana.
Stuttgart, W. Kohlhammer, 1961.

By Anne Ross.
London: Routledge & K. Paul, 1967.

By Bernhard Maier; translated by Cyril Edwards.
Rochester, N.Y.: Boydell Press, 1997.

By G.H. Doble; edited by D. Simon Evans.
Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 1971.

By Elissa R. Henken.
Wolfeboro, N.H.: D.S. Brewer, 1987.