Celtic Studies

John T. Koch, editor.
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2006. 5 volumes.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

By Barry Cunliffe.
Oxford University Press, 2003.

By John Haywood.
Pearson Longman, 2004.

Edited by Sean Duffy.
London: Routledge, 2005.
[For print version locations see UofT Catalogue]

Edited by James McGuire and James Quinn.
Cambridge: Royal Irish Academy and Cambridge University Press, 2009. 9 volumes.
[Available in Print through the UTL Catalogue]

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering and religion to literature, painting, medicine and sport, this widely-praised encyclopedia is the place to start for Irish biography. Articles are signed and contain bibliographies. So detailed is the 9-volume set that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

By Clint Twist.
Willowdale, ON: Firefly Books, 2001.
Maps, photos, and illustrations of Celtic history and civilization.

By Myles Dillon and Nora K. Chadwick.
London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 1972.
This source is a good place to get background information on Celtic topics. Although the main focus is Irish Social History, there are also chapters that deal with both Celtic Religion and Mythology and Irish and Welsh literature. This work includes an index, illustrations, and a list of abbreviations. The plates include: photographic examples of Celtic coins, artefacts and art; maps; landmarks and ruins.

By Nora Chadwick.
London: Folio Society, 2001.
This excellent introduction to Celtic Studies includes chapters on art, literature, institutions, and religion.

By Simon James.
London: Thames and Hudson, 1993.

Edited by Benjamin T. Hudson, Vickie Ziegler.
Lanham : University Press of America, 1991.

Edited by John T. Koch in collaboration with John Carey. 4th ed
Aberystwyth: Celtic Studies Publications, 2003.

By Doris Edel.
Dublin: Four Courts, 2001.

Edited by James S. Donnelly, Jr.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2004. 2 volumes.
Over 400 articles on periods of Irish history, social institutions, organisations and important individuals; each article includes a bibliography of the most important books and journal articles. Also includes the full-text of over 150 primary documents.

The online edition contains only biographies.
PRINT COPY TEMPORARILY UNAVAILABLE

Edited by Michael Glazier.
Notre Dame, Ind.: Notre Dame Press, 1999.

Edited by Renée Fox, Mike Cronin, and Brian Ó Conchubhair.
London: Routledge, 2021.

Edited by Matthew Campbell.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003.