ALCTS (Association for Library Collections & Technical Services)

ARLIS (Art Libraries Society of North America) Cataloging Section

ASIS&T (American Society for Information Science), Special Interest Group - Classification Research

ISKO (International Society for Knowledge Organization)

Music Library Association - Cataloging & Metadata Committee (content restricted to members)

OLAC (Online Audiovisual Catalogers)

Membership in these groups is by appointment or election.

Heads of Cataloging Departments Interest Group (part of ALCTS)

IFLA Cataloguing Section

Joint Steering Committee for Development of RDA

SLA Committee on Cataloging

Mailing Lists

• AutoCat - Subscription and Archives
• RDA-L

Discussion Boards

• ALA Connect
• ALCTS E-Forums
• NISO Bibliographic RoadMap forum
  • General information on the Bibliographic RoadMap project

ALCTS

• General ALCTS events
• ALCTS events at the annual ALA Conference
• ALCTS events at ALA Midwinter
• There is usually a meeting of the Big Heads (Head of Technical Services at Large Academic Libraries) at the ALA Midwinter meetings.

CILIP Cataloging and Indexing Group (CIG)

• Main CIG
• CIG Scotland
• Training and events
• CIG hosts a biennial conference. 2012: value of cataloguing. 2014: metadata.

ISKO List of Conferences

• Official site (scroll down to the section “Coming KO Events”)

NASIG Conference Archives

• Annual conference
• Citations of past proceedings

OLA Superconference

• The annual conference usually offers (pre-conference) workshops on RDA and the occasional session about specific cataloguing issues
• 2015 conference

ALCTS Youtube playlist of cataloguing webinars

ALCTS Cataloging and RDA webinars (fees required)

Library of Congress’ Digital Future and You webcasts

Library of Congress Program for Cooperative Cataloging webcasts (includes discussions about BIBFRAME, Linked Data, RDA)

OCLC Cataloging and Metadata webinars

OCLC Youtube playlists

ALCTS Fundamentals Web Course Series

Library of Congress, Catalogers’ Learning Workshop

• Includes RDA training materials

RDA Cake (RDA Canadian Knowledge Exchange) Wiki

• Includes training documents, conference workshops and presentation slides used by Canadian trainers

RDA Toolkit

• Teaching and Training Links

Most blogs that are focused on cataloguing are tracked by the blog aggregator Planet Cataloging (http://planetcataloging.org). The RSS feeds available through Planet Cataloging include: 

• Bibliographic Wilderness
• Catalogablog
• Cataloging Futures
• Celeripedean
• Coyle's InFormation
• First thus
• High Visibility Cataloguing
• Lorcan Dempsey's weblog
• Metadata Matters (Diane Hillmann)
• The Serials Cataloger
• What's the point?

Other cataloging blogs not covered by Planet Cataloging:

• Fred 2.0, http://www.ibiblio.org/fred2.0/wordpress/

Whenever available to the U of T community, titles are linked to the UTL catalogue record for the e-journal. 

• Cataloging & Classification Quarterly (online)
• IFLA Classification & Indexing Newsletter (online)
• The Indexer (print)
• Journal of Library Metadata (online)
• Knowledge Organization (print)
• Library Collections, Acquisitions, and Technical Services (online)
• Library Resources & Technical Services (online)
• Music Cataloging Bulletin (online)
• Serials Librarian (online)
• SRELS Journal of Information Management (print)
• Technical Services Quarterly (online)

CLIR Digitizing Hidden Collections (Grant Program)

• This program replaces the former CLIR Cataloging Hidden Special Collections & Archives program, which awarded its final round of grants in December 2014

Foundation Grants for Preservation (Library of Congress 2010 Cumulation)

• The 2010 Cumulation is the latest available listing
• Includes some grants that cover the cataloguing of special collections