Skip to Main Content

Education: Children's Literature

Teachers can look at award winners as one measure of quality when selecting books for classroom use. We've highlighted a number of children's and YA literature awards represented in the OISE Library's collections. We've provided a short list of recent award winners as well as a longer document detailing historical award winners, including a link to the book in the library's collections.

The Governor General's Literary Awards

The Canada Council for the Arts Governor General’s Literary Awards celebrate the best in Canadian literature. Awards for Young People's Literature are given in the categories of text and illustration, in both English and French.

Recent Governor General's Literary Award winners at the OISE Library:

The First Nations Communities Read Award

First Nations Communities Read is an annual reading program launched in 2003 by the First Nations public library community in Ontario. Their Aboriginal Literature Award for Children's Literature encourages family literacy, intergenerational storytelling, and intergenerational information sharing. The award is administered by the Southern Ontario Library Service.

Recent First Nations Communities Read children's Award winners at the OISE Library:

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Award commemorates the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, and honors his wife Coretta Scott King. The award is given out annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. This award is given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults, and whose books convey appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Recent Coretta Scott King Book Award winners at the OISE Library:

The Stonewall Book Awards

The Stonewall Book Awards for LGBTQIA+ books are sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table. The awards include the Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award, presented annually to English-language works published in the year prior.

Recent Stonewall Children's and young Adult Award winners and honourees at the OISE Library:

TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award

Established in 2004 in partnership with the Canadian Children’s Book Centre, the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award honours the most distinguished book of the year. All books, in any genre, written by a Canadian and for children ages 1–12 are eligible, and awards are given in both French and English categories.

Recent TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award winners at the OISE Library:

Forest of Reading

The Forest of Reading program is the largest recreational reading program in Canada. As an initiative of the Ontario Library Association, the Forest of Reading offers eight reading programs to encourage a love of reading for all ages. This initiative celebrates Canadian books, publishers, authors, and illustrators. The different categories are based on the different levels of readers.

Recent Forest of Reading winners at the OISE Library: