Research Guides: HIS205: Topics in Women's History: Primary source databases

Online primary source text collections: summer 2014 focus

Use the Primary Sources for Historcial Research Guide to find reliable primary source databases.

Major collections in world and women's history include:

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical South Asian sources, including reference materials, images, maps, statistics, books, and journals.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Documents, illustrations, and biographies related to the history of South Asia, spanning from 1615 through 1947.

Internet African History Sourcebook
Sources documenting the history of African countries, organized by country and spanning the ancient, Medieval, and modern periods.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.

Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
While this database is called "International," it is primarily about the experience of Western women.

Use the Primary Sources for Historcial Research Guide to find reliable primary source databases.

Major collections in world and women's history include:

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new window
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980 This link opens in a new window
English-language primary sources relating to Chinese interactions with the West.
Digital South Asia Library (DSAL) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical South Asian sources, including reference materials, images, maps, statistics, books, and journals.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America (EENA) This link opens in a new window
Collection of personal accounts and other primary sources documenting relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850.

India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
Documents, illustrations, and biographies related to the history of South Asia, spanning from 1615 through 1947.

Internet African History Sourcebook
Sources documenting the history of African countries, organized by country and spanning the ancient, Medieval, and modern periods.
Jewish Life in America, c.1654-1954

Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
Letter collections produced by prominent medieval families in 15th-century England.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs related to the study of Indigenous history and culture.

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Works published in English and other European languages in United Kingdom in the 18th century, including books, essays, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America from 1473 to 1700, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Collection of the personal writings of over 500 women representing diverse races, social classes, and geographical regions, from the 18th to mid-20th centuries.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material originating from British archives, including manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations related to issues of gender.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window

Gerritsen Collection This link opens in a new window
Documents on women and gender from 1543-1945, largely Western European and English.