Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IRE1270: Law of Labour Relations

This subject guide is meant to assist students, particularly those enrolled in IRE1270, with research papers and assignments.

Getting Started with Legal Research

Looking for some basics on how to search, interpret, and cite legal materials? Check out the books and links listed below.

LabourSource

LabourSource is the source for Labour Arbitration cases (LACs) & Candian Labour Arbitration (Brown & Beatty) (also available in print at the CIRHR library)

LabourSource provides online access to:

Cases and Decisions:

  • Labour Arbitration Cases (L.A.C.)
  • Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (C.L.A.S.)

Texts and Annotations:

  • Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Edition (Brown & Beatty)
  • Canadian Labour Law (Adams)
  • Willis & Winkler on Leading Labour Cases 
  • Willis & WInkler Labour Arbitration: The Year in Review 
  • Corry, Collective Bargaining and Agreement
  • Saxe & McLean, Collective Agreement Handbook

Statutes and Regulations

  • Labour and Employment Statutes and Regulations

How to use the database:

EmploymentSource

EmploymentSource combines expert commentary, case law, legislation and dismissal notice periods. Employment Spectrum includes the following legal texts & looseleaf services, cases & commentary, legal guides and bulletins.

EmploymentSource provides online access to:

Cases and Decisions

  • EmploymentSource Cases and Decisions

Texts and Annotations

  • Ball, Canadian Employment Law
  • Keith, Canadian Health and Safety Law
  • D'Andrea, Employee Obligations in Canada
  • D'Andrea, Illness and Disability in the Workplace
  • Levitt, The Law of Dismissal in Canada, Third Edition

Statutes and Regulations

  • Labour and Employment Statutes and Regulations  


How to access the database:

  • Go to EmploymentSource on UTLibraries. You can also find EmploymentSource by entering employmentsource in the catalogue.
  • Click on EmploymentSource under View Online.
  • You can explore by chapter or use the search box at the top.

CanLII

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet.

This website provides access to:

QuickLaw

With Lexis Advance® Quicklaw®, you have one-page access to the most comprehensive collection of primary and secondary materials, court decisions, legislation, legal commentary, current and archived news, and much more. You have access to 120 sources of information on labour & employment law. Includes Employment Law in Canada (Geoffrey England); Halsbury's Laws of Canada

Lancaster House First Resort

Lancaster House First Resort is a great place to search for your research.

First Resort is Lancaster's comprehensive resource for labour and employment law. First Resort organizes articles that summarize and analyze key labour and employment law decisions into twenty-one different databases, each of which covers a discrete area of labour law. Also included in your searches on First Resort are:

  • Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal
  • Labour Arbitration Yearbook Online
  • Leading Cases on Labour Arbitration Online
  • Wrongful Dismissal and Employment Law eText

Contact the library to learn how to access this resource.

Law Blogs

Case & Statutue Law

Case Law

  • QuickLawCourt Decisions; Case Summaries; Tribunal Decisions under Primary Law
  • WestLawNext Canada
  • CanLII
  • Canadian Abridgement:  available on Westlaw Next under Finding tools
    • a comprehensive research tool for Canadian Law 
    • offers summaries of cases and treatments 
  • The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest: available on Westlaw Next under Commentary
  • Canadian Encyclopedic Digest provides a comprehensive statement of the law of Ontario and the four western provinces - provincial, federal and common law - as derived from the case law and legislation.
    • alternative to the Canadian Abridgement 

Statute Law