Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IRE1270: Law of Labour Relations

This subject guide is meant to assist students, particularly those enrolled in IRE1270, with research papers and assignments.

Film and Video Resources

U of T Media Commons: Streaming Film & Video from Home 

Features dozens of streaming platforms accessible via UTORid login. Includes blockbuster feature films, documentaries, and educational videos. Sites of special interest for IRHR researchers include:


Media Commons Archival Collections 

The Archival Research Collections are available at Media Commons for on-campus use only.


National Film Board of Canada 

"The National Film Board (NFB) is a public agency that produces and distributes films and other audiovisual works which reflect Canada to Canadians and the rest of the world." You will be using use the U of T Library catalogue to access these resources. The NFB maintains a specific subsection of 60 films about Work and Labour Relations which include topics such as: Child Labour, Technological Change, Strikes, Labour Relations, and more.

Titles include:


Labour Film database 

The Labor Film Database lists thousands of films and videos, searchable by title, director, actors and/or keywords (see search window at right). We’ve also categorized the database (at right, below “Categories”) and you can check out our tag cloud (also at right) to make it easier to find films and videos about the topics you’re interested in. Many of the entries also include trailers, film stills and distributor contact info.

Some of the Labor Film Databases titles are also available for online viewing, these include:

IRHR Library Video Resources

IRHR Video Resources 

Students can use the UTL Catalogue to access a list of video resources available from the IRHR Library, including both documentaries and feature films. N.B. These resources are DVDs and must be physically accessed from the library.

Titles include:

IRHR Podcasts

The IRHR Library maintains a list of Canadian, US, and international IRHR podcasts, organized by topic.