Skip to main content

Information Resources for UofT Alumni and other Practising Dentists

Open access journals

Please note that many subscription-based journals have some Open Access content. 

Bonus Journal Content

Journal of Clinical Periodontology: The website of the journal's publisher, the European Federation of Periodontology, offers a variety of brief overviews of current issues on their home page, which may include videos of research presentations and links to workshop proceedings, to help you stay up-to-date on the latest periodontal research. The EFP has an active Twitter and Facebook presence, as well as a YouTube channel where they post interviews with experts and short informational videos.  

Clinical Oral Implants Research: The website for the European Association for Osseointegration includes brief summaries of recent relevant research on their homepage, which may not have appeared in traditional dental journals. Under the "Publications" link you can access Consensus Conference reports, and a patient education booklet in five languages is available for purchase. The Association's Facebook page features conference information, as well as occasional research and clinical information. They also have an active Twitter and LinkedIn presence.

Oral Oncology: The journal's website offers abstracts of issue highlights (access to individual full articles can be purchased). There are also a number of Open Access articles published in every edition which can be found on the journal's homepage. On Twitter the journal connects with OncologyAdvance to provide links to studies and other interesting news for oral and other cancers and treatments. 

Journal of Endodontics: On the journal's website there are a number of value-added resources. Monthly "Issue Highlights" allow you to read article abstracts, as well as purchase full access. In the "Topic Collections" feature you can read abstracts for article groupings from the journal on subjects such as diagnosis, infracted teeth, oral pathology, and pain management. There is also the option to purchase full access. An audio and podcasting feature near the bottom right of the main page has interviews related to journal articles. For a fee, you can also access the content of the Live Learning Center - a library of educational presentations, materials, and continuing education courses. 

Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery: The website of the journal's publisher, the European Association for Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery, allows you to access abstracts and e-posters from past congresses under the EACMFS Congresses tab. There are also links to paid continuing education courses

Journal of Periodontology: Visitors to the journal's website can download PowerPoint slides of JOP figures for use in their own presentations, view videos and narrated slide presentations on selected journal articles, access Clinical Advances in Periodontics, and find materials related to a variety of workshops and meetings on the home page. The journal's publisher, the American Academy of Periodontology, provides patient resources, clinical & scientific papers, and a glossary of periodontal terms on their website. The AAP also maintains active Twitter and Facebook pages, where they post about the latest news related to periodontics.

Journal of the American Dental Association: Through the ADA website you can access JADA Supplements on topics such as anesthetics, imaging, and infection control. Abstracts are freely available, and non-subscribers can purchase full-article access. Members of the ADA also have access to online continuing education courses. The ADA's Facebook page includes links to recent studies, professional education information, conference information, and patient education materials. They have an active Twitter account and a YouTube channel with patient education videos. 

Archives of Oral Biology: On the journal's website you can read Open Access articles, as well as abstracts from current issue highlights. Full access to those articles can also be purchased. On their Twitter page, Elsevier Dentistry, you can find links to research and publishing advice. 

American Journal of Orthodontics & Dentofacial Orthopedics: Watch "Case of the Month" videos, as well as current issue article profiles in "Video of the Month" on the journal's website. Abstracts are also available, with the option to purchase full access for selected articles. 

European Journal of Orthodontics: The journal's website offers videos of their "Distinguished Teachers Lecture" series, as well as full access to a limited number of current articles. 

Angle Orthodontist: This is an Open Access journal with full access to all articles through the journal's website. You can also download a free app through the website to allow full mobile access to the journal. 

Dental Traumatology: Through the website of the journal's publisher, the International Association of Dental Traumatology, you can access the free Guidelines for the Evaluation and Management of Traumatic Dental Injuries as well as their Dental Trauma Guide - an interactive, evidence-based treatment tool that is free for IADT members. There is also some patient education material available. 

Get the articles through interlibrary loan

Any member of the public can request particular books or journal articles through the library with which they are affiliated -- including their local public library -- which can then provide the requested items through the interlibrary loan system with a fee.

Full-text books