Research guides: ANT338 Laboratory Methods in Biological Anthropology: Finding Journal Articles

Medical and Scientific Journal Article Databases

Some of your background research will involve getting recent medical and public health research. These databases will help.

MEDLINE (OVID)
This comprehensive database uses the Ovid interface. It allows for modular searches and features the MeSH thesaurus.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library provides systematic reviews. These are prepared by teams of researchers to answer questions such as "Is immunization for TB effective?" based on meticulous and impartial review of hundreds of published primary research articles. A great place to get the big picture overview and to read great review articles.

Scopus
A major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. It also gives access to its citation metrics.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A major multidisciplinary database. Web of Science consists of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be searched as a database in the usual manner. But you can also uniquely search the citation indexes for articles that cite a known author or work.

History and Anthropology Journal Article Databases

As you research, you may wish to document various areas in the lives of those affected with TB. Databases on this list provide historical context, history of science and medicine research, and give access to anthropological, historical and sociological research on the times.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields from three bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science (HSS), the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), and the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers over 1000 leading academic journals across the humanities, sciences and social sciences, as well as selected books valuable to research. Many publications included have full-text archives reaching back to the 1800s. The collections is full-text and fully searchable.
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
A major index for social science and interdisciplinary scholarly research. The main focus is on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics and sociology, but spiritual and religious traditions are covered.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes a fair amount of full-text linking. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute into one resource. It indexes more than 2500 journals and edited works published worldwide.
FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
FRANCIS is strong in psychology, education, linguistics, archeology, information science, sociology and literature. FRANCIS is published by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), a unit of the French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS). Over 4200 sources indexed.