Research Guides: Art History: Online Resources

Online Resources

Art & Architecture ePortal
Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums. Search, read, cite, note, and more.
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.
Dictionary of Art Historians
The Dictionary of Art Historians is a biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted, scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
SmArthistory
Smarthistory unlocks the expertise of hundreds of scholars, making the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher.
Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA)
The Internet Archive and the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC), with generous funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), have embarked on a collaborative project aimed at capturing and preserving at-risk web-based art materials. The project, Collaborative ART Archive (CARTA), facilitates the development of a collaborative entity of art libraries building collections of archived web-based content related to art history and contemporary art practice. Through this consortial approach, the project will leverage shared infrastructure, expertise and collecting activities amongst participating organizations, scaling the extent of web-published, born-digital materials preserved and accessible for art scholarship and research. CARTA member organizations identify and nominate websites within the scope of eight (8) collection topics, including: Art Criticism; Art Fairs and Events; Art Galleries; Art History/Scholarship; Artists Websites; Arts Education; Arts Organizations; and Auction Houses. The goals are to promote streamlined access to art reference and research resources, enable new types of scholarly use for art-related materials, and ensure that the art historical record of the 21st century is readily accessible far into the future.
The Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.
Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
The Artists Database is a research tool that brings together the growing body of literature about women artists who worked in Canada and who were born before 1925. It covers women who worked in diverse mediums, ranging from painting and sculpture to photography and textiles. In addition to a brief biographical sketch, each entry comprises a bibliography of writings about the artist and, in cases where women artists have authored works, a separate bibliography of their writings. Locations of artists' files are indicated, as well as their association memberships.
Contemporary Art Library
The Library includes more than 370,000 images, documents and videos representing more than 12,500 exhibitions, performances and other projects.
video...close...
Founding Partners:

Air de Paris, Almine Rech, Altman Siegel, Antenna Space, Arts Club of Chicago, Art Sonje Center, Atlanta Contemporary, Ballroom Marfa, Bel Ami, Bergen Kunsthall, Bortolami, Bridget Donahue, CENTRAL FINE, Contemporary Art Centre Vilnius, Contemporary Arts Center Cincinnati, Contemporary Arts Museum Houston, Crèvecoeur, dépendance, Etablissement d’en face, FRAC Lorraine, Galerie Barbara Weiss, Galerie Buchholz, Galerie Francesca Pia, Galerie Hussenot, Hammer Museum, Hannah Hoffman Gallery, Jacky Strenz, Jessica Silverman, JOAN, Kim? Contemporary Art Centre, Kunsthal Aarhus, Kunsthalle Basel, Kunsthalle Bern, Kunsthalle Lissabon, Kunst Halle Sankt Gallen, Kunsthalle Zürich, Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM–), Kunstverein Hannover, Kunstverein Nürnberg, LACE (Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions), LAXART, Layr, Les Bains-Douches, Long March Space, Lulu, MAMCO, Maureen Paley, Meliksetian | Briggs, Mendes Wood DM, Mercer Union, Midway Contemporary Art, Misako & Rosen, MIT List Visual Arts Center, Modern Art, Museo Tamayo, Neue Alte Brücke, Nonaka-Hill, Overduin & Co., Parker Gallery, Participant Inc., Petzel, Pivô, Radio Athènes, Schinkel Pavillon, Swiss Institute, Taka Ishii Gallery, Te Tuhi, The Approach, The Drawing Center, The Newsstand Project, The Power Plant, The Wattis Institute, UCCA Center for Contemporary Art, u's, Vleeshal, What Pipeline, WIELS, XYZcollective
The Digital Cicognara Library
The Digital Cicognara Library is an international initiative to recreate in digital form the remarkable private book collection of Count Leopoldo Cicognara (1767–1834). Though assembled in the Romantic era, Cicognara’s collection of some five thousand early imprints stands as an important scholarly resource for the literature of art and archaeology. Cicognara’s famous, two-volume inventory of his library, the Catalogo ragionato dei libri d’arte e d’antichità, published in 1821 and often reprinted, remains an essential tool for scholars and bibliophiles.

Research Guides

Art History

Online Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us