Research guides: Jewish Studies: Judaism

Dictionaries

Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion by Louis Jacobs
Publication Date: 1999-09-09
Key Words in Judaism by Ron Geaves; Rebecca Vaughan-Williams
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
The JPS Dictionary of Jewish Words by Joyce Eisenberg; Ellen Scolnic
Publication Date: 2001-05-01

Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Judaism by Jacob Neusner (Editor); Alan J. Avery-Peck (Editor); William Scott Green (Editor); Alan Green (Editor)
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
This encyclopedia is specifically about the religious aspects of Judaism; it does not include articles on non-religious historical or cultural aspects. Each of the 230 articles is an in-depth essay on a particular topic.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Fred Skolnick (Editor); Shmuel Himelstein (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
A one-volume reference work about all aspects of Judaism but with much shorter articles than those in the Encyclopedia Judaica. No bibliographic references.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Adele Berlin (Editor-In-Chief); Maxine L. Grossman
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
The scope of this work is Jewish religion. It includes a much larger number of articles than Neusners Encyclopedia of Judaism but the articles are much shorter. Includes some bibliographical references.
Medieval Jewish Civilization by Norman Roth (Editor)
156 essay-length articles on people, places, and events. Includes many articles on Christian-Jewish and Muslim-Jewish relations.
A Dictionary of Jewish-Christian Relations by Edward Kessler (Editor); Neil Wenborn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005
Over 700 brief articles on events, institutions, movements, people, places, and publications. No bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture by Glenda Abramson
Publication Date: 2005-01-12

Other useful works

The JPS Guide to Jewish Traditions by Ronald L. Eisenberg; Jewish Publication Society Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2004-10-04
Chapters on Jewish traditions and customs to do with life-cycle events, the Sabbath, festivals, the synagogue, and prayer.
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Prayer by Macy Nulman
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Includes information on each and every prayer recited in the Ashkenazic and Sephardic traditions. Arranged alphabetically by prayer, the encyclopedia entries include extensive liturgical information on the prayers, their composers and development, the laws and customs surrounding them, and their place in the service.
Free Jewish Sources and Resources on the Internet by Dr. Melech Tanen
A very useful compilation of freely available Jewish texts and other resources in Hebrew and in translation.

Bibliographies

Reader's Guide to Judaism by Michael Terry (Editor)
Call Number: BM50 .R43 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Bibliographic essays on over 400 topics. Each essay cites several major books, journal articles, or essays on the topic, and then proceeds to evaluate those resources.

Researrrrch Guides

Jewish Studies

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

Other useful works

Bibliographies

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us