Research guides: Food and Agriculture Studies: Government Information

General Resources

Finding Statistics at the University of Toronto:

Map and Data Library Statistics Collection
Links to the statistical data collections offered through the Map and Data Library. Includes Canadian, American and International statistics and census data.
CHASS
A collection of online databases and custom search programs maintained by CHASS (Computing in Humanities and the Social Sciences) at the University of Toronto. Contains social, economic and census data and statistics and more.

Conference Proceedings

Conference Papers Index
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis on the life sciences & environmental sciences.
Web of Science
Complete bibliographic information and author abstracts of proceedings papers delivered at prestigious international scientific and technology conferences. (coverage 1990+)

Government Publications

Finding Government Publications
Multiple guides to resources available to the University of Toronto community for Canadian and Foreign government information prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries
Canadian government documents
Google custom search bar by Carleton University that searches federal, provincial and municipal documents
Catalogue of U.S. government publications
A finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
United Kingdom official documents
Foreign government websites
Guide created by Northwestern University providing links to the official websites of national governments.

Food and Agriculture Government Agencies

Follow the links to access food and agricultural government agency websites at provincial, national and international levels. Most agency websites contain a 'publications' or 'research' section that links to grey literature produced by the agency. Government agencies are also a good source for food and agricultural statistics.

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food, and Rural Affairs
Provincial policies, statistics, initiatives and resources.
Agriculture and Agrifood Canada
National industry information, publications, programs and resources.
United States Department of Agriculture
Reports, dietary guidelines, programs and services, and statistics.
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations
Statistics, publications, meeting minutes, country profiles and other resources.

Additional Government Resources

University of Toronto Libraries hold an extensive collection of government materials, with particular strength in documents from Canada, Ontario, the United States, Great Britain and international governmental organizations such as the United Nations, European Union, the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, and the World Bank.

To find government information search these guides:

Research Guides

Food and Agriculture Studies

General Resources

Food and Agriculture Government Agencies

Additional Government Resources

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us