Research guides: Food and Agriculture Studies: Finding Articles and Journals

Searching for Articles

To improve your search experience and gain access to advanced features, always begin by clicking the Sign In button pictured below.

Once you have signed in to LibrarySearch you can:

Update your profile to be sure you will receive important library notifications
Check due dates, place holds, review item requests, and pay fines
Renew your borrowed items
View your search history
Access saved search results and citations
Create alerts to keep up to date on new publications

Please note: LibrarySearch times out after 30 minutes of inactivity, automatically signing you out and resetting itself to the default search page.

Remote Full Text Access

Remote access to the University of Toronto Libraries' digital collections is only available to current students, faculty, and University staff. Access to e-books, full text articles, databases, and other digital tools require users to log in via the University of Toronto's web login service. If you forget this before you start your session, you will be directed to log in as soon as required.

Find Specific Titles

To search for an exact article, search with quotations around your title phrase. See an article title search demonstration.

The advanced search option for articles allows you to use key words. By narrowing down your search results using the facets on the left hand side, you can find relevant articles. Also, if you know the specific details of the article you are looking for, such as volume, issue and/or title, this is where you can search for it.

Advanced Article Search

It is likely that you will receive an overwhelming amount of results, but by selecting the appropriate search filters, format and subject options, you can narrow down your results.

Choose an appropriate database that pertains to the subject you are researching by selecting "Subjects A-Z". For example, if we select "Ecology" from this list, we see all of the relevant databases that contain relevant articles, such as Ecology Abstracts or Environmental Science & Pollution Management.This will also lead you to other resources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Searching databases alphabetically

Peer-reviewed Journals

Articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by a group of the writer's peers (aka other academics in his/her field) before the articles are published. A scholarly journal is a journal that has been peer reviewed.

For print journals:

On the inside of the cover or on the first page or two, the peer review process will be outlined by the publisher, or go to the journal's website and look at the article submission guidelines to determine if the journal has a peer review process.

For an e-journal or any publication you are not sure about:

Use Ulrichsweb to determine if the journal is peer-reviewed or refereed. After you have typed in the name of the journal, if you see this symbol[refereed] you will know the journal has been peer reviewed.

In the example shown below, both the online and print versions of Earth Sciences History are peer-reviewed, while Earth Sciences is not.

Impact Factors / Journal Metrics

Journal Citation Reports lists the impact factors of journals from science and social science disciplines. It provides access to the following metrics:

Impact Factor: the frequency with which an "average article" in a journal has been cited in a given year; evaluative measure of a journal's relative importance.
Immediacy Index: how quickly articles in a journal are cited (Immediacy Index tutorial)
Article Influence Score: average influence, per article, of the papers in a journal (more info)
Eigenfactor Score: measure of the journal's total importance to the scientific community (more info)
Journal Self Cites: contribution of journal self cites to its Impact Factor

Food and Agriculture Studies Journals

Agriculture and Human Values
This journal is dedicated to an open and free discussion of the values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems. This journal also addresses the impact of agricultural and food related institutions, policies, and practices on human populations, the environment, democratic governance, and social equity
CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures
This journal aims to provide an innovative academic forum for interdisciplinary discussions surrounding the diverse culinary cultures of Canada, while also providing a venue for dynamic creative content on the subject.
Ecology of Food and Nutrition
The journal publishes peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of food and nutrition: ecological, biological, and cultural. It emphasizes foods and food systems not only in terms of their utilization to satisfy human nutritional needs, but also to promote and contest social and cultural identity. Articles focus on the relationship between food and nutrition, food taboos and preferences, ecology and political economy of food, food marketing and transportation, food and identity, agriculture and sustainability, ethnobotany, the evolution of human nutrition and food technology.
Environment and Planning A
This is an interdisciplinary journal of urban and regional research. This journal touches upon many disciplines such as geography, economics, environmental science, political science, demography, engineering, and regional science.
Food and Foodways
This journal contains articles on the history and culture of human nourishment. This journal explores the way in which food has shaped, and shapes, our lives socially, economically, politically, mentally, nutritionally, and morally.
Food and Nutrition
This journal offers information on family assistance and child nutrition programs administered by U.S. Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition service
Food Policy
This is a multidisciplinary journal publishing original research and critical reviews on issues in the formulation, implementation and analysis of policies for the food sector in developing, transition and advanced economies.
Food Security
This journal includes a synthetic view of the science, sociology and economics of food production, agricultural development, access to food, and nutrition, together with review articles, case studies and letters to the editor. This journal explores physical, biological, socio-economic and political constraints which not only limit food production but also the ability of people to access a healthy diet.
Gastronomica
This journal offers readers a taste of passionate inquiry through scholarship, humor, fiction, poetry, and exciting visual imagery. It contains interdisciplinary research from noted scholars that considers the relationship between food and culture throughout the world.
Global Food History
This journal features new research in food history from the foremost scholars in the field. It is the preeminent peer-reviewed journal for authors writing about food and drink using history as their primary disciplinary perspective. The journal also publishes work from scholars in other disciplines or who use interdisciplinary methods to consider the relationship between food history and food studies.
Journal of International Food & Agribusiness Marketing
This journal addresses the exchange and dissemination of food and agribusiness marketing knowledge and experiences on an international scale. This journal examines marketing issues in the total food business chain prevailing in different parts of the globe by using a systems and cross-cultural/national approach to explain the many facets of food marketing in a range of socioeconomic and political systems.
Journal of Agrarian Change
This journal promotes investigation of the social relations and dynamics of production, property and power in agrarian formations and their processes of change, both historical and contemporary.
The Journal of Peasant Studies
This journal provokes and promotes critical thinking about social structures, institutions, actors and processes of change in and in relation to the rural world. This journal addresses issues that confront peasants, farmers, rural labourers, migrant workers, indigenous peoples, forest dwellers, pastoralists, fisherfolk and rural youth – both female and male – in different parts of the world.
Journal of Rural Studies
This journal discusses rural issues such as society, demography, housing, employment, transport, services, land-use, recreation, agriculture and conservation. This journal focuses on areas encompassing extensive land-use, with small-scale and diffuse settlement patterns and communities linked into the surrounding landscape.
Journal of Sustainable Agriculture
This journal discusses agroecology and sustainable agriculture. It aims to address the changes that need to occur in the design and management of our food systems in order to balance natural resource use and environmental protection with the needs of production, economic viability, and social well-being. The main goal of this journal is to examine our current food systems from production to consumption, and the urgent need to transition to long-term sustainability.
Progress in Human Geography
This journal addresses all areas of human geography research, including philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical. This journal provides a forum for discussion and debate about questions, concepts and findings of formative influence in human geography.
Sociologia Ruralis
This journal focuses on ocial-science research on rural areas and related issues. This journal allows for social scientists engaged in a wide variety of disciplines focusing on social, political and cultural aspects of rural development to have a forum for discussion. Topics range from farming, natural resources and food systems to rural communities, rural identities and the restructuring of rurality.

Research Guides

Food and Agriculture Studies

Searching for Articles

Remote Full Text Access

Find Specific Titles

Peer-reviewed Journals

Impact Factors / Journal Metrics

Food and Agriculture Studies Journals

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us