Research Guides: Public Policy and Governance: NGOs & IGOs

NGOs & IGOs

Jump to:

Finding publications by NGOs or IGOs

Finding research papers and reports released by NGOs and IGOs (Non-governmental organizations and Inter-governmental organizations) and other organizations is challenging.

This section identifies lists of organizations by subject and by name. It also identifies best search engines for finding research papers and reports put out by NGOs and other organizations. None of these search engines is fully comprehensive, which is why it is often necessary to search the organizations site by site.

Newspapers may identify that a report on a selected topic was issued, although they may not identify the source of the report.

You can find Canadian NGOs/IGOs resources here.

Please note, if the resources you identify require payment or identify links at other universities, check in the library's catalogue, e-resources lists and with government document librarians for copies in the University of Toronto Libraries.

Indexes to article databases and other resources

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- Indexes articles from scholarly journals and magazines, such as the Atlantic, Economist, Commentary, Policy Review and Public Interest
- Indexes books, government and other reports and statistical compilations addressing important political, economic and social issues
- Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world, some in languages other than English

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
- Source for theory and research in international affairs
- Indexes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, book, journals, and policy briefs
- Also includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts
PolicyFile
- Unique resource for U.S. public policy research
- Access information from over 300 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centres, advocacy groups, and other entities
- Well-known contributors include: the Brookings Institution, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, World Bank
- Users can search the database by pre-defined subjects (such as housing, health policy, poverty, etc.) by clicking the search link on PolicyFile's homepage. Most records link directly to the full-text source.
- For searching tips, select the 'User Resources' tab, then select 'User Guide'

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- Multidisciplinary database that finds a range of materials
- The following is a sample search strategy that may be successful in identifying recently released reports and documents on a selected topic:
  - de=homeless*
  - and kw=released
  - and kw=(report or reports or study)

NGOs and IGOs

Research Guide: NGOs (University of California at Berkeley)
- An excellent guide organized in three sections: International Guides & Directories; Regional Guides & Directories; and NGOs and the United Nations.
- Site also includes an NGO custom search engine, developed by Indiana University and Stanford
- Site searches NGOs with consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council, sites listed on the University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, the Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)
Research Guide: NGOs (Duke University)
- Provides a list of selected NGOs by subject (Development, Environmentally Sustainable Development, Human Rights, Statistical Data Sources and Women in Development) and by region (Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, North America and Transnational)
- See also its Table of Contents (on the right) for other information provided
- Note: items identified as being at “Duke only” are also available at the University of Toronto Libraries with most links provided in this guide
List of IGOs
- A-Z listing of the world's major IGOs
- Available through Northwestern University
Selected links to international organizations (Union of International Associations)
- From the Yearbook of International Organizations
- Most information is free, some requires subscription
United Nations Research Resources
- Research guide prepared by Sherry Smuggler, Robarts Reference
United Nations: official documents of the UN (ODS Search)
- Full text of documents, 1993+
- To locate items found through AccessUN, search the ODS under the exact document number
Associations Canada
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
- Provides brief directory information
- Included with other directories in "Gale's Ready Reference Shelf"
Europa World Plus
- An authoritative source providing brief information on over 1900 international organizations

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
- Offers online access to OECD statistical databases, books, periodicals, reports, etc.
AccessUN (1945 - Present) This link opens in a new window
- Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents held in the University of Toronto Libraries in paper and/or microfiche

Search engines for locating NGOs and IGOs

Custom NGO search engine
- Custom search engine that streamlines results by pulling information from only NGO website
- NGO sites chosen based on consultative status with the UN's Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University's NGO research guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)
- Developed by James Jacobs (Stanford University)
IGO search engine
- Custom search engine that allows users to search the websites of over 3,400 IGOs listed in the Yearbook of International Organizations
- Developed by the Union of International Associations
IGO search engine (Indiana University, Bloomington)
- An experimental web search engine useful for finding information from IGOs such as the United Nations, World Bank, IMF (International Monetary Fund), and related organizations

Policy websites

Policy Network
- London, U.K.-based centre-left think tank dedicated to promoting progressive policies and renewal of social democracy
Political Advocacy Groups: A Directory of United States Lobbyists
- Site is organized by subject, e.g. aged-population; homeless & poor; health –abortion; racial & ethnic groups; think tanks; etc.
- Groups are ranked and rated by their influence (calculated by how often they are cited in major newspapers)
NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks (NWDTT)
- Provides basic organizational information on approximately 500 institutions from over 100 countries

Research Guides

Public Policy and Governance

NGOs & IGOs

Finding publications by NGOs or IGOs

Indexes to article databases and other resources

NGOs and IGOs

Search engines for locating NGOs and IGOs

Policy websites

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us