Research Guides: Public Policy and Governance: Newspaper articles

Why use newspapers?

Newspapers are an excellent research tool. They provide users with current events, multiple perspectives, archival information, and in-depth regional/national coverage.

This section provides users with information on accessing the library's extensive newspaper resources.

Newspaper Articles

Canadian Newstand
- Covers major Canadian newspapers including The Globe and Mail, The Toronto Star and National Post
- Coverage lags by two days, with the exception of The Toronto Star which is current to the day

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes the following indexes:
- Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Toronto Star, and National Post
- U.K. newspapers, including The Guardian, Independent, and Times (London)
- U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post
- News magazines, such as The Economist
- International papers, in English and other languages

ProQuest Newspapers 1986+
- Provides primarily full-text coverage of English language international newspapers
- Indexes some additional titles
- Some are current to today's date, but others lag a day or two
- See the complete title list by clicking on 'Publications' from within the database
LibGuide: Newspapers
For more information, use the library's excellent guide to newspaper resources to identify:
- Major indexes to a range of news sources
- University of Toronto holdings of major full-text electronic, print, and microform newspapers (e.g., The Globe and Mail)

Research Guides

Public Policy and Governance

Why use newspapers?

Newspaper Articles

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us