Research guides: Paramedicine & EMS @ UTSC: Home

Welcome

Use this website to begin your research. Use the menu on the left-side of the screen to navigate this website.

Key Resources

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
A video library dedicated to teaching the practice and theory of scientific experiments through engaging and easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. Includes a Clinical Skills collection covering Emergency Medicine and Critical Care.

Mosby's Emergency Dictionary by William Garcia
ISBN: 0801679419
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Specifically for those who provide care in emergency settings, this dictionary provides definitions of virtually every emergency response term you need to know -- plus clear explanations of techniques you use every day.
Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care by Valerie Nixon (Editor)
ISBN: 1118488229
Publication Date: 2013-04-17
Professional Practice in Paramedic, Emergency and Urgent Care explores a range of contemporary relevant topics fundamental to professional practice. Written for both pre- and post-registration paramedic students, it is also ideal for existing practitioners looking to develop their CPD skills as well as nursing and other health professionals working in emergency and urgent care settings. Each chapter includes examples, practical exercises and clinical scenarios, helping the reader relate theory to practice and develop critical thinking skills.
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professions by Bruce Colbert; Jeff Ankney; Karen Lee
ISBN: 9780134876818
Publication Date: 2019-01-09
A hands-on, visually rich study companion guiding allied health and nursing students through human body systems and clinical applications.

Undergraduate Research & Creative Events & Prizes

The University of Toronto Scarborough is committed to fostering the undergraduate experience. As part of this commitment, the UTSC Office of the Vice-Principal Research and Innovation and the UTSC Library launched two successful initiatives in 2016 which continue to evolve and grow every year.

Each initiative provides an opportunity for students who have excelled in research, scholarship and creative activities to showcase their work and win cash prizes.